PDA

View Full Version : is QT a bad habit?

StOoZ
May 31st, 2008, 01:32 AM
Im kinda new to C++ , read two primer books (huge ones...), and programmed the exercises from the books , and more from my mind... some STL code etc.
now I would like to develop a cross-platform app, I find QT to match all my requirements, BUT, as a newcomer to C++, is QT a bad C++ coding style for new C++ users?
The app is not going to be only GUI, if it was , I could use wxwidgets,etc, but also XML,sockets..etc.

LaRoza
May 31st, 2008, 01:34 AM
Im kinda new to C++ , read two primer books (huge ones...), and programmed the exercises from the books , and more from my mind... some STL code etc.
now I would like to develop a cross-platform app, I find QT to match all my requirements, BUT, as a newcomer to C++, is QT a bad C++ coding style for new C++ users?
The app is not going to be only GUI, if it was , I could use wxwidgets,etc, but also XML,sockets..etc.

No, it is a fine library (or set of libraries). It should fulfill your needs fine if you are writing non commercial software.

StOoZ
May 31st, 2008, 09:27 AM
im writing an open source application.
the problem is, I feel that , its not quite the C++ syntax,everything is so clean and neat , which is good , but is it a good practice for a new C++ programmer?

also , I've heard that KDE is based on Qt , which means, KDE did not pay to trolltech a dime because KDE is an open source software?

DavidBell
May 31st, 2008, 09:46 AM
everything is so clean and neat , which is good , but is it a good practice for a new C++ programmer?

Umm, yeah it is.

Jessehk
May 31st, 2008, 01:00 PM
The one thing that has always bothered me about Qt is the strange memory management. Contrary to normal C++, they actually encourage you to avoid initialization lists and delete'ing memory because the classes do their own cleanup.

For example, the "correct" way of subclassing QWidget to make a Widget with a single button is something like this: