PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Do laptop users like the glossy screen?

swarup
May 27th, 2008, 05:08 PM
I am looking at purchasing a laptop as my next Ubuntu box. I've been using the same laptop for the last 10 years, and it has a matte screen. Which I like and have never had any problem with-- but I've been to Bestbuy to check out how the new laptops are and I must say, these glossy screens are eye-catching.

Looking around the web, people seem to have love-hate relationships with them. Some say they are the greatest thing on earth and much clearer than the matte screen; and others say they (glossy screens) are irritating to the eye, full of reflections, and give one a headache. From what I can tell, gamers tend to prefer the glossy screens. And business people seem to prefer the matte screens.

Matte screen users seem to often look down their noses at the glossy screens, saying they are just used by companies because they look great on the storeshelf, and are just to attract customers for a quick-sell. --Useless and even disturbing, matte users say, for the serious computer user who is going to be on the keyboard for many hours a day.

I do virtually all word-processing, spending 9-11 hours per day on the computer. Mostly word-processing, but also a fair bit of web browsing. And no gaming.

I note that most laptop screens being sold these days are of the glossy type, and would like to know how users of these glossy screens find them to be. Particularly for non-gaming applications: word-processing, data bases, spreadsheets, and also web browsing.

I'd be quite willing to try my hand at a glossy screen--after all they do look quite shiny and beautiful with vibrant colors and clear images--but of course once a laptop is purchased it really can't be returned. Is that immediate eye-catching beauty which people like, worth what others describe as the risk of eye irritation and even headache with prolonged use?

civillian
May 27th, 2008, 05:19 PM