PDA

View Full Version : [other] Normal CPU temperature.



sharks
May 27th, 2008, 08:03 AM
What is the Normal CPU temperature? mine it is 60*C . is it normal?

forestpixie
May 27th, 2008, 08:19 AM
There isn't afaik a normal cpu temperature because most have slightly different temp ranges - you can find out from your cpu manufacturer - sounds a bit warm though

kpkeerthi
May 27th, 2008, 08:22 AM
What CPU do you have? Is it a desktop?

Considering you and me living in the same city and our ambient temperature is usually 40 degrees C, 60 sounds pretty normal for a desktop.

My laptop's (Pentium M centrino) usually idles at 44 degrees.

sayakb
May 27th, 2008, 08:25 AM
I always have a 60 degrees on a laptop, while normal temp for desktop ranges from 50-60 degrees which also depends upon how may ACPI fans you have. This all depends on your processor (Core Solo has lower temp than Core and Core2 Duos or further).

cheesypoof
May 27th, 2008, 08:26 AM
60*C is a bit high for idle no matter what CPU you are running.
<-- Intel Quad Core @ Idle = 50*C Load = 62*C

sharks
May 27th, 2008, 08:28 AM
intel p4 519 at 3.06ghz

sayakb
May 27th, 2008, 08:30 AM
60*C is a bit high for idle no matter what CPU you are running.
<-- Intel Quad Core @ Idle = 50*C Load = 62*C

Which quad do you have.. :confused:
My Q6600 rises till 70 and 55-60 is idle. I have 12 ACPI fans on the cabinet.

sayakb
May 27th, 2008, 08:31 AM
intel p4 519 at 3.06ghz

For a P4 Desktop, 60 is quite high.

soxs
May 27th, 2008, 08:31 AM
Phenom seems to be another world: 35C idle, 50C load; 55C heavyload
But this higly depends on our environemt temperature.
Note: I own a 400g Alu Cooler 8)

reeseslover531
May 27th, 2008, 08:32 AM
Ya 60 is high for idling my q6600 overclocked to 3.4 ghz only hits 60 under pretty extreme load. What cpu do you have?

sayakb
May 27th, 2008, 08:35 AM
I guess it also depends on the country you live in 8)
India has about 40*C to 42*C during the noon-afternoon period, so that might be the cause.. :(

cheesypoof
May 27th, 2008, 08:45 AM
Which quad do you have.. :confused:
My Q6600 rises till 70 and 55-60 is idle. I have 12 ACPI fans on the cabinet.

I also have the Q6600, the B3 revision. Make sure you have not disabled stepping. That would mean your CPU would be running at 2.4ghz while idle instead of 1.6ghz. I have a Thermaltake CL-P0310 CPU Cooler + 4 case fans by the way in the western USA. If those temperatures are correct for your region, then I would definitely look at those as a significant factor why yours are higher. Hopefully this provides you with reasons why your temperatures differ from mine. :)

http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/product/cooler/retail/cl-p0310/cl-p0310.asp

sayakb
May 27th, 2008, 08:59 AM
What I did is that I changed the power manager CPU settings from gconf (/apps/gnome-power-manager/cpufreq). I set the AC fre to 80. It already has started showing 50*C :D
How much is this supposed to affect my speed (no notable differences)