PDA

View Full Version : [other] RAM replacement.



CM Xtasy
May 27th, 2008, 01:42 AM
I want to replace my RAM from my laptop to a different brand. Right now I have stock 2gb (2 x 1gb) and they are Hyundai. I found these: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231116
when I searched for my specific laptop model. The RAM sticks in my laptop are PC2-4200 and these that I'm thinking about ordering are PC2-5300. Will I be able to use them in my laptop still?

Victormd
May 27th, 2008, 01:50 AM
you'll have to check with yur laptop vendor because even if you get faster RAM, your motherboard might to use the full speed so you'll be spending money for nothing...

thisiam
May 27th, 2008, 01:53 AM
Kingston is very popular, lately i have been using patriot and have no complaints, as long as they got a lifetime warranty brand doesn't really matter as long as the specs are what you are looking for and need.

CM Xtasy
May 27th, 2008, 01:54 AM
you'll have to check with yur laptop vendor because even if you get faster RAM, your motherboard might to use the full speed so you'll be spending money for nothing...

In the specific laptop model search on newegg, it made me select which motherboard I had so I have the intel 945 chipset. The G.SKILL is faster than what I have now because now my sticks have a max bandwidth of 266mhz :|. There is also a PC2-4300 version of the G.SKILL RAM, and I have PC2-4300 on my laptop.

Victormd
May 27th, 2008, 03:17 AM
In the specific laptop model search on newegg, it made me select which motherboard I had so I have the intel 945 chipset. The G.SKILL is faster than what I have now because now my sticks have a max bandwidth of 266mhz :|. There is also a PC2-4300 version of the G.SKILL RAM, and I have PC2-4300 on my laptop.

Even though the G.SKILL RAM is faster than your current RAM, you have to know if your laptop motherboard will run (or take advantage of) anything faster than 266MHz? If so, I say go for it... if not, then it doesn't matter what ram you get, it'll always run at 266MHz...

Gotta say though, those G.Skill are dirt cheap! nice find!!!

CM Xtasy
May 27th, 2008, 04:25 AM
Even though the G.SKILL RAM is faster than your current RAM, you have to know if your laptop motherboard will run (or take advantage of) anything faster than 266MHz? If so, I say go for it... if not, then it doesn't matter what ram you get, it'll always run at 266MHz...

Gotta say though, those G.Skill are dirt cheap! nice find!!!

Well they asked me if I had Intel 945 or ATi chipset, and I chose the Intel 945 since that's what I have, so I'm assuming the G.SKILL RAM will work since it's in that category. If anything, I can just return it if I dont like it.

lol thanks ;)

Victormd
May 27th, 2008, 04:58 AM
I'm not trying to say that it won't work, I'm pretty sure it will... :)
I'm just saying that you might not get the performance gain that you want... :)

Paqman
May 27th, 2008, 05:07 AM
Go to your laptop manufacturer's website to get the correct spec. I wouldn't trust Newegg for that.

CM Xtasy
May 27th, 2008, 02:18 PM
Go to your laptop manufacturer's website to get the correct spec. I wouldn't trust Newegg for that.

Well my laptop is 2 years old and I cannot find it on toshibadirect.com anymore :| What would I need to look for? Since stock RAM in my laptop is PC2-4200, should I buy the G.SKILL PC2-4200 or the PC2-5300 sticks?

Shazaam
May 27th, 2008, 02:33 PM
Which Toshiba laptop is it? (model number?)

CM Xtasy
May 27th, 2008, 02:36 PM
Which Toshiba laptop is it? (model number?)

Satellite M115-S3144

Shazaam
May 27th, 2008, 02:46 PM
Here is your support page, you can download a user guide to find more info......
http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi-bin/tais/su/su_sc_modelLanding.jsp?ProductMenu_0=Portables&ProductMenu_1=Satellite&model_find=M115-S3144&ProductMenu_2=1484714&moid=1484714&rpn=PSMB0U&smoid=true&ct=MH&ListType=Model&x=16&y=9&ignore_sn=true
Another page......
http://www.intel.com/products/chipsets/945gm/index.htm

Shazaam
May 27th, 2008, 03:07 PM
Memory info for your chipset..........
http://www.intel.com/technology/memory/ddr/valid/DDR2_667_sodimm_results.htm

CM Xtasy
May 27th, 2008, 07:37 PM
Here is your support page, you can download a user guide to find more info......
http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi-bin/tais/su/su_sc_modelLanding.jsp?ProductMenu_0=Portables&ProductMenu_1=Satellite&model_find=M115-S3144&ProductMenu_2=1484714&moid=1484714&rpn=PSMB0U&smoid=true&ct=MH&ListType=Model&x=16&y=9&ignore_sn=true
Another page......
http://www.intel.com/products/chipsets/945gm/index.htm

According to the Intel site, my chipset allows RAM up to 667mhz and right now the max bandwidth on my stock sticks are 266mhz per stick. I think I'm going to buy the G.SKILL PC2-5300 pair @ 667mhz instead of the PC2-4200 @ 533mhz. Is this solved or is there still an issue with my picking of RAM?

Paqman
May 27th, 2008, 08:55 PM
Nope, if you've got the right spec in the right form factor at a compatible speed then you're good.

lazyart
May 27th, 2008, 10:06 PM
You say you're replacing the memory-- I'm hope this means you are increasing capacity. I wouldn't bother swapping out memory just for it's rated speed.

Having said that, I doubled my desktop memory using G.SKILL sticks then promptly overclocked it. No complaints, and it was their budget line.

stchman
May 27th, 2008, 10:13 PM
I want to replace my RAM from my laptop to a different brand. Right now I have stock 2gb (2 x 1gb) and they are Hyundai. I found these: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231116
when I searched for my specific laptop model. The RAM sticks in my laptop are PC2-4200 and these that I'm thinking about ordering are PC2-5300. Will I be able to use them in my laptop still?

Putting in RAM that is better it will still work. As long as all is identical besides that the RAM is spec'd to be quicker.

It should work fine.

Victormd
May 28th, 2008, 04:44 AM
http://www.stchman.com

Nice website! Already added to my bookmarks!!!:guitar:

stchman
May 28th, 2008, 08:07 AM
Nice website! Already added to my bookmarks!!!:guitar:

Thanks, I have worked hard on it for some time.