PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] looking to switch, but will these programs work?

kmanpwnudwn
May 27th, 2008, 12:34 AM
I am looking to switch to Ubuntu, but before I do that I need to know if these programs will work with it. I have some basic knowledge of Fedora and Red Hat because of Cisco class, but I know it will take getting used to.

First of all, my main priority is will the Zune software work? If not, will it work in Wine? I love having portable music and movies, and it would suck majorly if I couldn't update my Zune with new music.

Second of all, does Utorrent work in Ubuntu? Or, are there different torrent programs that will work? I've heard talk of Azerus (sp?), but I don't know.

And my final major concern would be a media player. Right now I am using Winamp and it keeps connected to my Last.FM account. Just curious as to whether or not Winamp will work in Ubuntu (Wine?) and if the Last.FM application will work in Ubuntu (again, Wine?)

I would like to completely remove Vista and switch to Ubuntu full time, but if Zune wont work in Ubuntu then I will have to obviously keep Vista on a separate partition. Unless if there is somehow a way to update my Zune without the Zune program.

Thanks for any help anyone can provide!!

bm13084
May 27th, 2008, 01:03 AM
not sure about the zune software, but my ipod AND last.fm needs are met with amarok. as far as torrents go, hardy comes with "Transmission BitTorrent Client". So you should be set. I'd assume you can update the zune somehow in ubuntu...

kmanpwnudwn
May 27th, 2008, 01:03 AM
Thanks for the info, I'll look more into Amarok.

philinux
May 27th, 2008, 01:06 AM
I use deluge for torrents. It's very good.

sam_delta
May 27th, 2008, 01:09 AM
for the torrent client, id look into deluge-torrent

for the zune you might want to look at post #2 from
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=2340145