PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Networking and Internet

Vigh
May 23rd, 2008, 03:41 AM
Hi I am new to Ubuntu, just put a fresh install on my machine seems to be going okay. I was just wondering how can check if there are drivers already installed for my network card and if there are drivers already installed how can I set up my network so that I can connect to the internet through linux. The network card is plugged directly into the modem via ethernet. Thanks Anthony

Nessa
May 23rd, 2008, 03:58 AM
If your network card is built into the motherboard, it usually detects it automatically. Check your hardware list if your lan card shows up there with the right brand/model/etc.

Vigh
May 23rd, 2008, 04:09 AM
Need more info, its not an on-board lan cards, its 10/100 pci lan card, not sure of the model and make, how do i check the driver list? I am noob. Sorry! LoL! Anthony

oedha
May 23rd, 2008, 04:18 AM
open terminal :==> applications - accessories - terminal
type :==> sudo lshw -short { this will display your HW and see your NIC there }
after that
go to system - administration - hardware testing { to test your hardware }

Vigh
May 23rd, 2008, 04:23 AM
Don't I have to be connected to the internet to test the hardware? It says could not connect to server when I try to test the hardware. In the hardware list under network it says Gammagraphx, Inc. Does this mean the driver and hardware are working properly? Or will I need to install a driver for the network card still.

MaindotC
May 23rd, 2008, 04:28 AM
Yes you should have the 10/100 card plugged into "the internet".

Vigh
May 23rd, 2008, 04:30 AM
It is plugged in to the internet, it connects directly to the adsl modem via ethernet but the internet does not appear to be working on ubuntu. Any suggestions on how I can get it going.

MaindotC
May 23rd, 2008, 04:33 AM