PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Changing Load Screen Resolution



MatthewPlanchard
May 22nd, 2008, 08:51 PM
Hello!

Okay, I remember doing this once to fix a problem with the loading screen (Ubuntu logo and progress bar) going black upon logging in in Gutsy.

With the Heron upgrade, the login screen is now huge and off-centered.

Which file can I edit to adjust the resolution of the login screen?

thanks!

mc4man
May 22nd, 2008, 10:05 PM
post your xorg.conf, many times this can be fixed from there (not always)

wootah
May 22nd, 2008, 10:40 PM
Hey there!

If you are referring to the loading screen that displays the Ubuntu Logo and the progress bar that appears before you can login, then the change needs to be made in /boot/grub/menu.lst. If the logo is off centre, too large, or you can't read the text, then we need to configure a kernel boot option (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BootOptions#head-e95c9e129e9eb9fca524fe278cd57fcdb39db62d), but don't worry because it's wicked simple!

You need to edit the /boot/grub/menu.lst using anything you like, nano, gedit, whatever. The permissions on this file are root:root, 644 so you will need to use sudo for nano or gksudo for gedit. Before you start, make sure you backup menu.lst!

Find the the following lines:


<snip>
## ## End Default Options ##

title Ubuntu 7.10, kernel 2.6.22-14-generic
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.22-14-generic root=UUID=df1efe7b-4feb-4dc9-bf44-4bb294cffc18 ro splash
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.22-14-generic
quiet

We are interested in the kernel line. Here we need to append an option called vga. See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VESA_BIOS_Extensions#Linux_video_mode_numbers to view the correct number to use. Ex: for 1280x1024 @ 24 bit we use 795 or for 1024x768 @ 24 bit we use 792. All we have to do is append vga=<number>:


title Ubuntu 7.10, kernel 2.6.22-14-generic
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.22-14-generic root=UUID=df1efe7b-4feb-4dc9-bf44-4bb294cffc18 ro splash vga=792
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.22-14-generic
quiet


Save your changes and reboot! After setting it to the correct number, things should be ok!

Good luck, and don't forget to backup your menu.lst before hand!

MatthewPlanchard
May 22nd, 2008, 10:59 PM
Thanks, that worked perfectly. I ended up using 352 for 1280x800. At first I didn't see it on the list, to my dismay, but then discovered it hiding in the footnotes.

Thanks again.

wootah
May 22nd, 2008, 11:02 PM
Glad I could help! Mark thread as solved ?