PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Server help

CodeCruncher
May 22nd, 2008, 04:51 PM
I have installed ubuntu server and then installed the gui for the desktop.

Can i not add files to the server from there and controll the server. Hell I cant even find the htcos folder to add my site to.

Yes I'm very new to Linux!

cdtech
May 22nd, 2008, 05:07 PM
Sure you can.

Hell I cant even find the htcos folder to add my site to
Hell, it aint windows:
In a terminal, type /var/www, thats your site directory.

Learn the command line, thats what GNU/Linux Server edition is all about.

If you need practice, why don't you just use the desktop version to learn on?

CodeCruncher
May 22nd, 2008, 05:33 PM
Sure you can.

Hell, it aint windows:
In a terminal, type /var/www, thats your site directory.

Learn the command line, thats what GNU/Linux Server edition is all about.

If you need practice, why don't you just use the desktop version to learn on?

Yes I know this isn't windows thats why I asked here and not a windows form. A simple ---> hey man the web servers home dir in Linux is /var/www---> would have been great!

I'm trying to learn this that's why I'm asking to questions. If we all already new everything there would be no reason for this forum.

I installed the server edition because i need a server and I want to learn Linux.

So now back to my issue if anyone else could help. There is no /www under the /var directory.

When i look in the System monitor and processes I don't see Apache running. In firfox I type localhost I get site not found. When I installed the GUI from the server command line I rebooted to the desktop. When doing that will the server start on it's own? Will the server even run while in the desktop????

Thanks for any help----> Yes I'm very green to Linux:lolflag:

NateMan
May 22nd, 2008, 05:40 PM