PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] dual screen nvidia geforce mx440

trikster_x
May 22nd, 2008, 04:57 AM
I am new to Ubuntu and linux. Though I do love this program, I cannot fully switch over from windows for a very simple reason: I can set up windows for dual screen, seperate resolutions. This enables me to use the s-video out on my video card to play my saved media on my 640x480 tv without affecting my monitor's resolution of 1024x768. Though it would be nice to have this same option through Ubuntu (then I could completely lose windows:) ), I would settle for something that would allow me to just get a desktop displayed on my tv, though I am not willing to sacrifice picture quality. I was using linux mint for about three weeks and I could get a desktop expanded across my tv, but picture quality was horrible when I tried to play any videos. I am very new to all this still, so if you could take me through the process step by step, it would be much appreciated. I am able to use a terminal when i am given the code to input. Regardless, Ubuntu is going to be my main OS since it does not crash three or four times a day like windows does. Thanks in advance for any help that you might be able to give me.

thewho?
May 22nd, 2008, 04:59 AM
This is a fun one...ok not really. It isn't that bad, but here is a good wiki. It really involves installing the nvidia drivers and then configuring twinview. So here is the link to the wiki.

http://www.ubuntugeek.com/dual-monitors-with-nvidia.html

trikster_x
May 22nd, 2008, 05:56 AM