PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] help accessing a website



n0chi
May 21st, 2008, 01:17 AM
hello all,
I am new to ubuntu and I am trying to access the following BU site from Firefox 2 in ubuntu 8.04

http://vista42.bu.edu/

Initially it turns out my JRE was not installed properly and after LOTS of research :) I learned how to install a symbolic link and got that problem sorted out (as you can see from my attached screenshot)

so What happens is... I go to the above site and click the "Login" (or any of the 10 links on the right) and they go nowhere... I am just left on that page forever... I never get to the next site which asks for my ID and pass.

Also I noticed this error in Firefox... might be useful... not sure:
something about "nsextensionmanager.js" not installed

(I am suspecting that the javascript of that site is getting messed up?)

not sure...

Thanks!

Thirtysixway
May 21st, 2008, 01:21 AM
Hm... I see a box that says Login and


Access to Vista requires your BU login name and Kerberos password. Your username is your BU email address without "@bu.edu".


It's not asking me about java, and it doesn't look to me that there's any java on the login screens.

n0chi
May 21st, 2008, 01:23 AM
Hm... I see a box that says Login and


Access to Vista requires your BU login name and Kerberos password. Your username is your BU email address without "@bu.edu".


It's not asking me about java, and it doesn't look to me that there's any java on the login screens.

cool, so its that second screen that I cant see... any thoughts on what might be stalling my browser?

i guess what I am asking is... what are those sites using... and how do I get that functionality to work in my environment?

Thirtysixway
May 21st, 2008, 01:25 AM
It may be a Javascript problem. Looking at the source..


<button class="submit" name="login" type="button" onclick="window.location = 'http://www.bu.edu/phpbin/vista/cluster41/index.php'">

It's using Javascript to redirect you to the login page.

Try going to http://www.bu.edu/phpbin/vista/cluster41/index.php and see if that loads for you.

n0chi
May 21st, 2008, 01:25 AM
It may be a Javascript problem. Looking at the source..


<button class="submit" name="login" type="button" onclick="window.location = 'http://www.bu.edu/phpbin/vista/cluster41/index.php'">

It's using Javascript to redirect you to the login page.

Try going to http://www.bu.edu/phpbin/vista/cluster41/index.php and see if that loads for you.

Doesn't load :(

also, how did you get a screenshot of just the browser?

Thirtysixway
May 21st, 2008, 01:30 AM
What does the page display when you say it doesn't work?

::Hold down ALT and press the PRINTSCREEN button [above the num lock key] and it should bring up the screenshot but only for the current active window. Print Screen button alone does the entire screen ;)

n0chi
May 21st, 2008, 01:35 AM
What does the page display when you say it doesn't work?

::Hold down ALT and press the PRINTSCREEN button [above the num lock key] and it should bring up the screenshot but only for the current active window. Print Screen button alone does the entire screen ;)

this link:
http://www.bu.edu/phpbin/vista/cluster41/index.php

looks like the attached picture...

Thirtysixway
May 21st, 2008, 01:37 AM
At the bottom of your screenshot it looks like it's not finding the server, so perhaps it's a DNS issue. Are you currently at school or somewhere else? I'm not quite sure how to fix this other than maybe switching DNS servers.


Last resort, try
https://weblogin.bu.edu//web@login3?jsv=1.5p&br=un&fl=6

That's what it should be turning into.

n0chi
May 21st, 2008, 01:39 AM
hmm now that you mention it.... I cant even get to www.bu.edu lol...

im off campus.

Thirtysixway
May 21st, 2008, 01:41 AM
Yeah so it must be some dns issue. It may fix later, or you could try different dns servers

OpenDNS


1. Open a terminal window and type the following.

$ sudo network-admin

Note: Root access is required for this step.
2. Change to the DNS tab and enter the following two addresses in the top of the first field labeled DNS Servers.

208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220

https://www.opendns.com/start?device=ubuntu#step1

Sorry I can't really give any more information :\

n0chi
May 21st, 2008, 01:53 AM
tired those dns numbers, still the same problem :(

thanks for your help!

n0chi
May 22nd, 2008, 10:49 PM
tired those dns numbers, still the same problem :(

thanks for your help!

what does this error mean?

Error: installLocation has no properties
Source File: file:///usr/lib/firefox/components/nsExtensionManager.js
Line: 3938

n0chi
June 1st, 2008, 01:08 AM
also its bizzare that only http://www.bu.edu seems to not work... all other sites that i need seem to be going through ok!

Any idea why that could be?

james_vanb
June 1st, 2008, 01:44 AM
Your first screen shot seems to indicate that Java not being detected. I've been able to open all links in this post with no problems using Firefox 3 Beta 5 from Hardy. At the risk of asking the painfully obvious, have you checked to make sure Java is updated?


sudo apt-get install sun-java6-fonts sun-java6-plugin

May be worth a shot checking.

Or upgrade Firefox if you're using Hardy?

n0chi
June 4th, 2008, 03:13 AM
I just dont have the latest (version 6) of java, as the site I need works best on version 5, but I do have version 5 installed properly (as you can see in my frist post)

EDIT... also I have tried other borwsers as well and they seem to be having the same issue... so its something to do with the settings of ubuntu... I think!