PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] firewall restrictions by application??

nutpants
May 20th, 2008, 10:27 PM
how do i block or allow network access by application or process?

im a newbie going from windows and useing the pop up firewalls there
(kerio personal firewall,commodo,ect) where i allowed or blocked access to the internet by application either as a rule or on a time by time situation.
i want to allow all access for my torrent app
but block access for game one
and allow for game 2
allow for wine app 1
block for wine app 2
etc

some games or applications i want to always or never to have internet access and some i want to decide each time they ask

there is more and more software being made to check for updates or report use statistics.

i know its MUCH more wide spread in windows

but i expect it happens in linux also..

i would like to know whats going on without having to be a master of iptables.

firestarter and kmyfirewall are good but offer no popup notices
for a newbie popup alerts are one of the best ways to provide notice and to give the option to allow or deny..

but i can find nothing for linux that has such ease of use.

and almost every firewall faq i can find is 3 years old and are "how to set up iptables"

nutz

Paqman
May 26th, 2008, 09:13 PM
there is more and more software being made to check for updates or report use statistics.

i know its MUCH more wide spread in windows

but i expect it happens in linux also..

Generally not. Individual aps don't phone home for updates. All of that is handled by the package manager, which you're probably most familiar with through Synaptic. If you don't want an ap to update, you can lock it's version in Synaptic. However, there's no security risk in allowing them to update, since the package manager always only connects to the same repos to check for updates. Since the repos are a trusted source, it's not a problem.