PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Duel Booting with XP

Fishbot4000
May 19th, 2008, 06:41 PM
I know that this question must have been asked several thousand times, but this is the beginners forum, and I am a beginner, so I figure there's no harm...

I currently have windows XP, and just finished downloading Ubuntu: Hardy Heron. Now, my current hard drive is only 40gb and completely full. What I want to do is purchase a second hard drive to run Ubuntu, while leaving my current hard drive untouched. I've read many of the tutorials that others have posted, but none of them seem to fit this problem exactly. Quite frankly, I have no idea how to go about doing this because, well, I'm 112% new to linux.

Does anyone have solutions?
(again, sorry for the - most likely - repeated noob post)

wolfen69
May 19th, 2008, 06:47 PM
install new hard drive. when installing ubuntu, when you get to the part where you have to choose where to install ubuntu, just choose the new drive. that's it. when you are all done and reboot, you will be given a choice of which OS to use.

overdrank
May 19th, 2008, 06:50 PM
I know that this question must have been asked several thousand times, but this is the beginners forum, and I am a beginner, so I figure there's no harm...

I currently have windows XP, and just finished downloading Ubuntu: Hardy Heron. Now, my current hard drive is only 40gb and completely full. What I want to do is purchase a second hard drive to run Ubuntu, while leaving my current hard drive untouched. I've read many of the tutorials that others have posted, but none of them seem to fit this problem exactly. Quite frankly, I have no idea how to go about doing this because, well, I'm 112% new to linux.

Does anyone have solutions?
(again, sorry for the - most likely - repeated noob post)