PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Alien - file not found



2CV67
May 19th, 2008, 09:22 AM
Hi guys!

Trying to get my Epson scanner to work in Gutsy, I am following a thread on that subject, which tells me to download RPM files (done OK & checked md5 OK).

It then tells me to convert to deb package using alien (installed OK) using:
sudo alien iscan-2.8.0-1.c2.i386.rpm

When I do this, I get:
chris@DESKTOP:~$ sudo alien iscan-2.8.0-1.c2.i386.rpm
File "iscan-2.8.0-1.c2.i386.rpm" not found.
chris@DESKTOP:~$

I originally had the rpm file in a folder on the desk, then tried putting the file directly on the desk, then tried copying the file name directly from file properties (looked the same, but...) but always same result.

I guess I missed something.

A little advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

HotShotDJ
May 19th, 2008, 09:25 AM
If the file is still on your desktop, then simply execute the command
cd Desktop then run the other commands.

2CV67
May 19th, 2008, 10:09 AM
Thanks! :oops:

I promise to do Terminal 101 again immediately!

Actually, I hate terminal (as you can tell by my signature).
Your "cd desktop" gave :
chris@DESKTOP:~$ cd desktop
bash: cd: desktop: No such file or directory
chris@DESKTOP:~$

so I needed "cd Desktop"....

I look forward to a GUI Ubuntu!

Thanks again :)

angry_johnnie
May 19th, 2008, 10:18 AM
Hi there.

It's cd Desktop. :-) Linux is case-sensitive.

A few weeks ago, I found this (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=311255).

It will take some terminal commands to get it done, but after that you'll be able to right-click-convert rpms much easier. :-)

And, don't hate the terminal... she's your friend :-)

P.S. In that how-to I linked to, they tell you to


~/.gnome2/nautilus-scripts/alien-this

but it should be


gedit ~/.gnome2/nautilus-scripts/alien-this

Good luck.

HotShotDJ
May 19th, 2008, 10:50 AM
Actually, I hate terminal (as you can tell by my signature)...

...I look forward to a GUI Ubuntu!Remember, the command line will ALWAYS be more powerful than the GUI. In a GUI, you only get to do what the programmers think you ought to be doing. In the command line, you get to be the programmer. :)

2CV67
May 19th, 2008, 11:16 AM
Oh yes, of course I realize that command line is infinitely more powerful and efficient for full-time professionals, alert nerds and other smarties ;) but it is an ergonomic disaster for the other 99% of the population, especialy retired old geezers like me! (And I have been a programmer...)

I don't need to be able to get the exact pared-down result in nanoseconds; I need to be able to click steadily through to where I want to be without having to wade through a thick manual first and without risk of destroying everything by one false keystroke.

I would like to see an independent check on "efficiency" comparing random "dummies" like me (not experts) trying to use command line vs GUI.

I am happy to let you guys use command line, but I badly need GUI.

So does Ubuntu.

...and no - I don't want to stick with Microsoft!

Sorry if this is now a bit off-subject!

Thanks for being a great bunch of helpful guys!