PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] what is a good way to install on other hard drive?

nerd0795
May 19th, 2008, 01:37 AM
I was recently thinking about installing ubuntu on my computer.

The thing is I don't want to have a 0.00001% chance of messing up windows vista home premium. So I thought to my self why don't I add ubuntu to my second unused hard drive. So what would be a good way to do that with full instructions I'm a huge noob to linux.

and have no chance of damaging windows. I don't have an install disk. Stupid company never gave me one. They gave me an upgrade disk >.<

iaculallad
May 19th, 2008, 01:42 AM
Try this Link (http://apcmag.com/how_to_dualboot_vista_with_linux_vista_installed_f irst.htm)

Actually, its easy installing Ubuntu on another drive with vista already installed on another drive.
Ubuntu offers/does all the work for you. From partitioning your second HDD to integrating vista on your Boot Menu.

VMC
May 19th, 2008, 03:15 AM
I was recently thinking about installing ubuntu on my computer.

The thing is I don't want to have a 0.00001% chance of messing up windows vista home premium. So I thought to my self why don't I add ubuntu to my second unused hard drive. So what would be a good way to do that with full instructions I'm a huge noob to linux.

and have no chance of damaging windows. I don't have an install disk. Stupid company never gave me one. They gave me an upgrade disk >.<

Before you go any further, I would invest into a good backup program. My two venerable programs are Ghost and Acronis TrueImage. You can then clone your Windows partitions and keep in a safe place. I know this is Linux and their is a Linux way of doing backups but those two programs are fast AND secure. I can reimage my XP partition in under 5 minutes! If you don't know how to use them, their are tons of tutorials on both.

Em-Buntu
May 19th, 2008, 04:15 AM
This is the way I have my system setup.
I much prefer to keep operating systems on their individual disks.