PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I got a laptop for my birthday and...

Audrizzle
May 19th, 2008, 01:05 AM
It came with Windows Vista installed already. I have a live CD for
Ubuntu 7.10. I would like to dual boot them and I'm still new at this. I need to know how large to make each partition. I have a 160GB hard drive and 1GB of RAM. I've read that Vista has a way to partition already installed. Is that the best way to go? If so, how do I use that?

I really don't want to ruin my new laptop, so simple, clear, step-by-step instructions would be useful and most appreciated.

Thanks.

Twitch6000
May 19th, 2008, 01:08 AM
It came with Windows Vista installed already. I have a live CD for
Ubuntu 7.10. I would like to dual boot them and I'm still new at this. I need to know how large to make each partition. I have a 160GB hard drive and 1GB of RAM. I've read that Vista has a way to partition already installed. Is that the best way to go? If so, how do I use that?

I really don't want to ruin my new laptop, so simple, clear, step-by-step instructions would be useful and most appreciated.

Thanks.

Well that vista partition tool I am not sure of.Altough this guide can help you out step by step very well.
http://apcmag.com/how_to_dualboot_vista_with_linux_vista_installed_f irst.htm
I would suggest downloading parted magic for partitioning though as it is better at doing that =].

Audrizzle
May 19th, 2008, 01:13 AM
I see that the guide is written for 7.04. Does everything in it still work for 7.10?

Shazaam
May 19th, 2008, 01:14 AM
Is the laptop still under warranty?
IMHO if it is I would recommend running Ubuntu as a virtual machine until you get used to it (Ubuntu). Use any virtualization program you want. That way if an install goes bad you don't have to worry about Vista getting trashed.

meierfra.
May 19th, 2008, 01:19 AM
Don't use parted magic or gparted for a Vista partition. It can ruin it. Use Vista build in partitioner instead.