PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] DHCP needed for pxe boot?



phynix
May 19th, 2008, 12:59 AM
I have a computer that I would like to use as a pxe boot server, but I am confused about dhcp. Right now I have a Clark Connect box which acts as an internet gateway between my router and modem. My question is whether I need to edit that dhcp server inorder to make pxe to work.

Lapp-Same
May 19th, 2008, 11:22 AM
I have a computer that I would like to use as a pxe boot server, but I am confused about dhcp. Right now I have a Clark Connect box which acts as an internet gateway between my router and modem. My question is whether I need to edit that dhcp server inorder to make pxe to work.

have you installed dhcp3-server On the server??
or are you using a allready configured edition?

Anyway

If you allready have DHCP installed you just go in to you're router and edit the standard gateway to the ip-adress of the server...

-Christoffer-

phynix
May 20th, 2008, 06:16 AM
Ok wait does the dhcp server have to be between the modem and the switch or can it be connected through the switch.

phynix
May 21st, 2008, 01:58 AM
ok so if it is between the router and the modem how do you set which interface connects to the wan or the lan