PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] diverse program suggestions

tethys
May 18th, 2008, 08:08 PM
ok guys, how you all doin? I am new to Linux as of like 3 days ago, and I absolutely luuuuurrrrve the freaking fast boot up time. I have a list of things I want to get on ubuntu before I consider getting rid of Vista completely, and need help finding them.

For some background info, I'm on ubuntu desktop lts 8.04... on a laptop, lol. I am also a complete noob on the inner workings of Linux, so don't be like real techy with me... that'll come later down the line.

First I have a question about Automatrix2: I can't get rid of it... I tried the sudo apt-get remove automatrix2, and it doesn't get rid of it at all... so that needs to be like... gone.

Next, I am having an issue with printing... I have the standard printer configurator installed, and the printer is a Lexmark C530dn color duplexing laser... everythime I try to print anything, it prints like 50 pages with a bunch of random characters about 2-3 rows long across the top... and by that time i cancel the job from the printer itself and reset it to rid it of the jobs.

I am also in the market for a cd label printing program... I have labels, but it seems the proggy for windows that is for the specific labels is windows only... haven't tried running in wine yet, but I'm not holding my breath...

I don't believe I have any other pressing issues at the moment, but I'll post more if I get the need for something.

Thanks a bunch for who will help...

soxs
May 18th, 2008, 08:16 PM
Are you running x86 or x86_64? Important for printer drivers resolution approach...

shifty_powers
May 18th, 2008, 08:17 PM
heh, for the most part, lexmark printers tend to be 'paperweights', though you may be lucky ;)

tethys
May 18th, 2008, 08:25 PM
running x86

damis648
May 18th, 2008, 08:27 PM