PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Intruders



Cap'n Skyler
May 18th, 2008, 07:14 AM
well after having browsed the forums and reading the horror story the guy from arkansas--i wonder what i need to be doing for security.i am doing not really much now,however it is 8.04 from the install.
i have a router,and i need to know what else i should be doing?
our computer uses are general web browsing and the occasional e bay purchase.music and gaming too.
on my computers we have just pictures and music we have backed up elsewhere in a cd archive.
questions here:
would a timer on the modem and router be a good idea? power it off in the day when i am at work(save some electricity) and when i am sleeping?(thinking of using a timer to power everything at home off i can when i am away or sleeping)can it be accessed when the router and modem are shut down?
would a firewall box be good running on a live cd?
opinions of a firewall running a live cd firewall distro?
if i did that,what order do i set it all up?
i use long mixed passwords for everything.

NightwishFan
May 18th, 2008, 07:18 AM
I will post some links about linux security. I would think you have nothing much to worry about though.

http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/security
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=510812
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Security

Cap'n Skyler
May 18th, 2008, 07:37 PM
I will post some links about linux security. I would think you have nothing much to worry about though.

http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/security
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=510812
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Security

great reading! thanks
i still want the timers :) nothing wrong with saving electricity and money yes?:guitar:

NightwishFan
May 18th, 2008, 07:46 PM
I agree nothing wrong.

OrcaWave
May 19th, 2008, 05:30 AM
Dear Cap'n Skyler,

One of the VERY best investments that you can make is spending about $20.00 on an 'Alpha Shield' external firewall.

See them at: www.alphashield.com

SOME Radio Shacks have them on close out right now for a mere $20.00.

I don't work for them or anything, but they work. Along with an Mac I-Mac G-5, with Tiger OS 10.5 on it ,it took him nine MONTHS, to break through both the Alpha Shield, and through our Mac's firewall.

That was the longest time that I had been on the 'Net, successfully, in 5 YEARS.

It'll be the best twenty bucks that your *ever* spent!

Our story is such a nightmare because I got him fired from his job, and I also got him fired from his (volunteer) position as "a Minister" in the Arkansas Dept. of Corrections.

He also has some hardware and software that was once used by the U.S. Government overseas to hack our country's enemies computers with.

He got this from another hacker in Arkansas, who used to work for The U.S. Dept.of State, overseas.

This is the *only* reason that he was able break to into, and actually change our computer's BIOS.

Because he had/has this hacking gear that should have stayed within the Government.

He's also hacked my avatar here (I mean Whooooo, David!) at Ubuntu Forums.

Most hackers AREN'T this good. I was on the Net for 3 whole years, before this EVER happened to me.

Use a good solid router, and buy Alpha Shield, and don't ever fall for any "Social Engineering" tricks. Keep all your ports closed, except the ones that you need to operate your box. Alpha Shield will really help you to do this!

And for sure, get rid of Mozilla Firefox, and put Opera internet browser on your machine, don't surf pornography, or any websites like that, and you'll be fine.

One more thing, yes, turn your computer OFF at night, or when not in use.

And you mentioned using a Live CD to browse with, once you finish browsing, take out the CD, and everything that your box might have 'collected' while you browsed, will vanish. Using a Live CD is a great way to not get hacked!

This guy is probably a 10, on the scale of badness, of 1 to 10.

That's really rare, I know that our story is scary, but it's probably only happened to maybe a few hundred people on a planet that's using millions and millions of computers daily.

Just let knowledge guide you, learn all you can about your computer's OS, and don't worry.

P.S. The Routers at the Alpha Shield website now, AREN'T the one that I was talking about above. They no longer sell it, but you can still find a few at Radio Shack stores, it's smaller than a cigar box, and not too much larger than a paper back book.

Whoops, HERE IT IS: http://alphashield.com/php/AlphaShield.php

I guess Alpha Shield is going for the big bucks from here on out!

Orca Wave

nicedude
May 19th, 2008, 07:58 AM
While the alpha shield device seems to have a pretty good track record it is not un-hackable as nothing is if connected & plugged in. You can build a great firewall by the way with a dedicated linux distro ( i.e. Smoothwall )for just that purpose on an old PC with 32-64 Meg RAM + 1GB hard drive + 2 network cards=pretty bullet proof deivce that way you can learn something in the proccess other than how to plug something in. But unless a dedicated proffesional hacker wanted to access your data you are probably safe with Ubuntu and your router ( Especially if you configure the router correctly like disable unneeded ports & set proper password etc.)

Here is a link to the only known hacker proof firewall on the planet earth take a look.
http://roseweb.de/caro/pages/security/v-one/cut-orig.htm

Funny huh :-)

Monicker
May 19th, 2008, 01:54 PM
I wouldn't be surprised if the alphashield firewall uses embedded linux. :)

Cap'n Skyler
May 19th, 2008, 10:57 PM
Orca--Nice and moniker--
thanks
i love to tinker with linux,and maybe i try the old pc as i have one around here.
if i can make it all work,i think i can use that as a learning experience.i have been infected a couple times and from that i keep my computers relativlely clean and back up and save off the computer on cd/dvd's.
with the RAM advances of recent,we may soon have Hard Drive free comps that all run in flash memory.with linux you can have perhaps in the future,a mini dvd with your customized live cd OS and it cant be written to or changed.once you get it set up,create an ISO image and burn to the mini dvd and (it's drive will be read only--no write) then you can have your stuff messed with( while up and on the internet),but a simple re start will re secure you.
if that jackass breaks into my stuff,i hope he can clean up my credit LOL
i hope you can recover from the damage done to you.

rated727
July 10th, 2008, 01:47 AM
I'll add my $.02 on this one. Since Microsoft products are the majority of home and small office computers, they are THE favored target for hackers.
There are less holes in Linux to start with, and those fewer weaknesses aren't as open and inviting as Windows. For security, that's a great head-start.
Hacking is similar to burglary. Why spend the time breaking into a store that has bars, steel doors and alarms and a rottweiler behind the fence, if the business next door left their front door unlocked?
With this (windows vulnerability) in mind, I have been using an old PC and SmoothWall as a dedicated firewall for at least 5 years. (as Nice Guy suggested to you) One MAJOR advantage that an old PC as a dedicated firewall may have over a firewall appliance is that the software can easily be kept up to date, and being up to date with ALL of your security is almost as important as having it. The best security system in the world isn't much good if it is 3 or 4 years out of date.

My current SmoothWall box (my rottweiler behind the fence) is a 200x2 mHz AMD K6 -- 192mb RAM -- 4gb HDD -- 4X CDROM. (not powerful enough for other computing needs, but more than the minimum for this purpose) SmoothWall uses a text-based setup (no mouse) and once installed and configured, the box doesn't actually need the CDROM, monitor, or keyboard. You access SmoothWall from one of your (protected) computers through whatever WWWeb browser you use.

I'm sure that the other softwares have similar qualities and requirements, but I did a test drive on SmoothWall before any others, and I was fully satisfied ... Why continue shopping after you find something that meets all of your expectations and needs?

Visit www.smoothwall.org Read about what they offer. Check out other softwares for setting up a dedicated Firewall. Then make your choice and do it.

Since you said that you have a spare computer, do put it to good use. I'm not worried about my Linux system security as I am with Windows, If you are like me, you have some peripherals or games that don't run under anything except gen-u-whine mikeysoft. Blow the dust off that old computer and put it to good use.
Good luck and have fun
rated727

daleus
July 24th, 2008, 07:06 PM
He got this from another hacker in Arkansas, who used to work for The U.S. Dept.of State, overseas.

Because he had/has this hacking gear that should have stayed within the Government.

Wasn't this on an Episode of X-Files...



don't surf pornography, or any websites like that, and you'll be fine.

Yes Father, See you in Church.

What does porn have to do with getting hacked, honestly, there's only 2 types of holes in porno, and none of them are a "security" hole.


I guess Alpha Shield is going for the big bucks from here on out!

I have a hard time believing non of those "big bucks" go to you as commission for this post.

hyper_ch
July 25th, 2008, 07:24 AM
well after having browsed the forums and reading the horror story the guy from arkansas

what story?

mikazo
July 25th, 2008, 07:54 PM
I too like to be as secure as possible. I tried setting up an old box as a dedicated firewall, both with IPCop and SmoothWall. They both seemed to be based off the same distribution because the install screens were very similar. I installed 3 network cards, all of which use the same driver, which was successfully detected during the install process. However, there was no indication to which interface (eth0, eth1, eth2) belonged to which card. I was trying to set up one interface as the WAN port, one as the wired section behind the firewall (green) and one as the wireless section behind the firewall (blue/purple).

I eventually gave up because one of my NICs was faulty and I still couldn't figure out what to plug in to which card/interface.