PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] conjobs

xoligy
May 18th, 2008, 04:13 AM
Hey all im new to linux, localhosts and php. Here is the problem im trying to work on a script that uses cronjobs, some of the pages wount show all the information until crons are active.

Now i did something with the crontab command (canna remember what) and by typing crontab -l i get this:

xoligy@xoligy-desktop:~$ crontab -l
15 * * * * sh /home/public_html/Medi/cronfile/cron.php

I believe i got the address and command right but im unsure as im a newb :lolflag: anyhelp is appreciated :) oh it needs to update every 15mins believe i got that part right!

cdtech
May 18th, 2008, 04:23 AM
That setup you have there will start the cronjob every 15 minutes after every hour. The way to set it up for every 15 minutes is to use the comma seperated values such as:

0,15,30,45 * * * * (command to be executed)

That will run every 15 minutes.

Oldsoldier2003
May 18th, 2008, 04:37 AM
That setup you have there will start the cronjob every 15 minutes after every hour. The way to set it up for every 15 minutes is to use the comma seperated values such as:

0,15,30,45 * * * * (command to be executed)

That will run every 15 minutes.

0-59/15 * * * * if you wanted it to run every 10 minutes 0-59/10 etc ...

cdtech
May 18th, 2008, 04:53 AM
thanks Oldsoldier2003 for correcting me.

But what if I wanted to run it at 10 min after then 25 min after and then at 50 min after?

xoligy
May 18th, 2008, 06:05 AM
Thanks for the responces, i have just deleted the old crontab and started a new one with the following settings

xoligy@xoligy-desktop:~$ crontab -l
0,15,30,45 * * * * sh /home/public_html/Medi/cronfile/cron.php

This should "hopefully" run the file cron.php, but even with my old way it didnt look like it ran. Turns given at the start was 50 and after 48hrs there was still 50 :confused:

maybe its the file thats not working right i dunno lol

<?

function defSort ($a, $b) {