PDA

View Full Version : [other] How do I connect to the router connected to my router?



50words
May 15th, 2008, 09:50 PM
Here is how the network is set up:



Internet
|
Modem
|
Router1
|
Router2
|
My computers


I need to get to Router1 in order to forward a port. How do I find its internal IP address from my computer? How do I connect to it from my computer?

andrewc6l
May 16th, 2008, 12:15 AM
From a command line on one of your computers, try:


traceroute www.bbc.co.uk

The second address line should be the IP address of router1, assuming it's pingable.

50words
May 16th, 2008, 02:31 AM
Okay, so that worked. But how do I get to that address in my browser? Both routers have the same internal IP address (192.168.0.1). If I use http://192.168.0.1, I end up at my router, not the next one up the line.

eldragon
May 16th, 2008, 02:34 AM
how confusing, im interested in the solution too.

id try switching one of the routers to another network, maybe 192.168.1.1

but then, those are non routable, maybe you need to set a manual route, but i do not know about how to set that up. and most definately, it has to be supported by the router.

Mr A Mouse
May 16th, 2008, 02:45 AM
1. Take one of your computers and plug it into the first router (closest to the modem). Name it as router01 and set that router's IP address as 192.168.1.1, and turn DHCP off.
2. Unplug from the first router, plug into the second. Name it as router02 and set it to 192.168.1.2 (again, turn DHCP off).
3. Set your computers in the range of 192.168.1.10 - 192.168.1.254 (this leaves you a bit of slack space in case your network expands and you need to install more routers), and name them as appropriate.

In this case, you are using your routers as plain switches with no routing capabilities. You can either set your NAT settings on router01 (thus using it as a router again), or you can set up one computer as a gateway for the other computers.

50words
May 16th, 2008, 02:45 AM
There are actually three routers between the modem and my computers. Each has an IP of 192.168.0.1. I cannot change the other two, although I could change mine, if I knew how.

Mr A Mouse
May 16th, 2008, 02:47 AM
There are actually three routers after the modem. Each has an IP of 192.168.0.1. I cannot change the other two, although I could change mine, if I knew how.

Do you not have access to the other two routers?

You can change yours by opening a browser and typing "192.168.0.1" in the address bar.

50words
May 16th, 2008, 03:58 AM
Do you not have access to the other two routers

I don't know how to access them, which is why I posted this thread!

Mr A Mouse
May 16th, 2008, 04:10 AM
I don't know how to access them, which is why I posted this thread!

Oh, I'm sorry for my confusion. That's why I was having you unplug a computer from your current router and go program the routers one by one.

50words
May 16th, 2008, 02:31 PM
Oh, I'm sorry for my confusion. That's why I was having you unplug a computer from your current router and go program the routers one by one.

Now I understand. I don't know why I didn't think of something that obvious.

I still would like to know, though, if there is a way to get to each router through the network. Something like http://192.168.0.1::192.168.0.1?

Mr A Mouse
May 16th, 2008, 03:43 PM
Now I understand. I don't know why I didn't think of something that obvious.

I still would like to know, though, if there is a way to get to each router through the network. Something like http://192.168.0.1::192.168.0.1?

Not that I can think of while they all have the same IP address.