View Full Version : [all variants] Want to make a server for a client out of ubuntu(clients use mac and pc)

May 15th, 2008, 05:41 AM
K, so me and my partner do IT support for several clients, this one in particular is having a HUGE problem with their windows small business server 2003. Part of which is because its a hacked bootleg version. I've been telling him about my addiction to ubuntu, and how it can be run as a server n stuff, and he wants to hear more about it. Heres what this particular client needs:

The server computer controls the DHCP, they have a wireless router as well, but thats just for the laptops when they are outside (I believe its a wrt54g linksys) ANyway, the server now runs the dchp, and the dns, it also does the most important thing the business owner wants -Back Up-

Because most of the computers are macs, and maybe a few PCs, I don't know if its possible to run a xubuntu OS with the capabilities of what I and they need. I'm kinda new to ubuntu, but I have it on all my machines (2 laptops, and 4 computers) I even made my dad switch over, and hes pissed cause all he does is go on aol, lololol.

So, what are some recommended programs that are easy to configure for this, and am I thinking right in loading on xubuntu (because its a stripped down version of the gnome interface) and installing a program for dchp, dns, and backup?

Any help would be great, I can't believe I never heard or used this OS before, i'm absolutely addicted to ubuntu, and would never go back to windows again if it werent that I also do some flash animation on the side for websites...

Thanx in advance!!:popcorn:

May 15th, 2008, 05:52 AM
Here's the new Hardy server (http://howtoforge.com/perfect-server-ubuntu8.04-lts) setup guide. For backup, it's as simple as a script (using a backup medium) or more complex such as running a raid setup (with an extra drive).

Hope this helps....

I'm kinda new to ubuntu, but I have it on all my machines (2 laptops, and 4 computers)