PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] wireless trouble



SCHWARTZMC
May 14th, 2008, 07:19 AM
i am a noob

running feisty

i wish i knew what i was doing

i started having trouble with my wi-fi earlier this winter. i would open mozilla and simply get 'cannot find server'. i managed to find out that if i entered the command below, i could get back on the internet.

sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart

at first it seemed that i would only have to do this after restarting the whole computer. but then it just happen...whenever it felt like it. i did receive some help from someone more experienced, but we were unable to find a solution. he recommend i give the following command:

matt@dell:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1C:23:F7:2C:2C
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:17

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1B:77:DF:86:84
inet addr:192.168.100.90 Bcast:192.168.100.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::21b:77ff:fedf:8684/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1364 errors:0 dropped:40089 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1079 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:60
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:308590515 (294.2 MiB) TX bytes:33240090 (31.7 MiB)
Interrupt:17 Base address:0x8000 Memory:fe8ff000-fe8fffff

eth0:avah Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1C:23:F7:2C:2C
inet addr:169.254.4.212 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
Interrupt:17

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:20097 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:20097 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1995755 (1.9 MiB) TX bytes:1995755 (1.9 MiB)
__

and the contents of '/etc/network/interfaces'


# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface

iface eth0 inet dhcp





iface eth1 inet dhcp
wireless-essid StructuredMesh





auto eth1

auto eth0

__

i have now started using it on a new wireless network and am experiencing a new twist. to get it working i have to flip a switch (possibly connected to the wi-fi brains) on the laptop from what i am guessing a 'on' position to an 'off' position. then switch it past 'on' to 'start' where it will spring back to 'on' (kind of like starting a car). i then have to enter the network restart command listed above...and POW! i'm back online.

i hope it is helpful. if there is a way to avoid this process, i would love to know. any help from anybody else would be greatly appreciated.

SCHWARTZMC
May 14th, 2008, 07:28 AM
sorry about the simlie above. i tried to remove it, but as i said...i don't really know what i'm doing.