PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 8.04 - No wireless with BCM4310 although seemingly installed



maramot
May 13th, 2008, 10:07 PM
I have a Broadcom 4310 wireless card. I upgraded from Ubuntu 7.10 to Hardy, along with an installed ndiswrapper 1.52 and the Dell driver 174291 for my card model.
In the first two days I had wireless, although I had to disable and then enable networking every time I logged in. I was also getting some errors after shutting down relating to my network. For some time though, and I don't know what I have changed, I have no wireless under ubuntu at all.

I am able to see wireless access points, choose the one I want but I don't seem to acquire it as an access point, as I see if I run iwconfig. This is while I keep my wireless adapter in 'roaming mode'. If I disable roaming mode and set my ip address, mask and gateway manually, then I see this output for iwconfig:


maramot@ubuntu:~$ iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"Aiport Home"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: 00:1E:52:6C:94:E9
Bit Rate=54 Mb/s Tx-Power:32 dBm
RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
Power Management:off
Link Quality:68/100 Signal level:-52 dBm Noise level:-96 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


But I am unable to even ping my router:


maramot@ubuntu:~$ ping 10.0.1.1
PING 10.0.1.1 (10.0.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=4 Destination Host Unreachable
From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=5 Destination Host Unreachable
From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=6 Destination Host Unreachable
From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=7 Destination Host Unreachable
From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=8 Destination Host Unreachable
From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=9 Destination Host Unreachable
From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=10 Destination Host Unreachable
From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=11 Destination Host Unreachable
From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=12 Destination Host Unreachable

--- 10.0.1.1 ping statistics ---
13 packets transmitted, 0 received, +12 errors, 100% packet loss, time 12031ms, pipe 3


I have no idea what could be wrong here. Please help.

Edit: the router is fully accessible wirelessly, both by my computer, when I restart under windows (like now) and from the other computer I have at home

maramot
May 14th, 2008, 09:54 AM
Bump.

If this is something simple and long solved, just give me the link. I wouldn't post it if I hadn't already looked and tried and failed with offered solutions.

maramot
May 14th, 2008, 05:02 PM
I've tried the howto for manual network configuration and the changes described here-- http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=607410 But still no help. I've posted my comments in that thread.

prshah
May 14th, 2008, 09:21 PM
I have no idea what could be wrong here. Please help.
Edit: the router is fully accessible wirelessly, both by my computer, when I restart under windows (like now) and from the other computer I have at home

Enable roaming mode; wait a few seconds, then select your wireless network (is it non-secure?).

Then, please open a terminal, and paste the output of
ifconfig, where we can see what IP has been assigned (if at all) to your wireless.

maramot
May 15th, 2008, 12:02 AM
Well, it never acquires a network key, so the output is:



maramot@ubuntu:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1d:09:b2:5c:ea
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:17

eth0:avahi Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1d:09:b2:5c:ea
inet addr:169.254.8.72 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
Interrupt:17

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:1592 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1592 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:79770 (77.9 KB) TX bytes:79770 (77.9 KB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:44:a8:1e:4a
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:17 Memory:f9ffc000-fa000000

SurferGTO
May 16th, 2008, 10:01 PM
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=794816&page=2

just got my 4310 to work. using wicd as network manager. hope something there helps.

note: there is a link for a hack in that thread that was the only thing that finally got it to recognize the hardware as present. after that i had problems actually connecting to a network using network-manager app and wifi-radar, however i got wicd and it was all point and click connection. now it automatically connects each logon.

DougN1
May 17th, 2008, 07:19 PM
Solution to Destination Host Unreachable after hot plugging wireless card or suspending computer or for other reasons.
I downloaded the wicd program and I can not tell if that was of any help or not. It does not appear to have been and does not appear to be related to this solution.

Go to System > administration > Network. Find your wireless connection (ethX) and uncheck it. Then check it again. If you are having whatever problem that I was having - or maybe another problem that caused the same symptoms, it will go away, and your wireless connection will be fully restored and working.

By the way, this assumes that all or most other indicators of connectivity like wlassistant, iwlist ethX scan, and / or iwconfig ethX showed a working connection. I guess that this indicates a bug in the Network Settings program.

prshah
May 17th, 2008, 08:38 PM
Go to System > administration > Network. Find your wireless connection (ethX) and uncheck it. Then check it again.

Or you can just open a terminal and give the command
sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart

maramot
May 25th, 2008, 03:15 PM
Apparently I can't discover any networks after I restart the wlan0


maramot@ubuntu:~$ sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart
[sudo] password for maramot:
* Reconfiguring network interfaces... There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.eth0.pid with pid 6496
killed old client process, removed PID file
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.6
Copyright 2004-2007 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

Listening on LPF/eth0/00:1d:09:b2:5c:ea
Sending on LPF/eth0/00:1d:09:b2:5c:ea
Sending on Socket/fallback
DHCPRELEASE on eth0 to 10.0.1.1 port 67
ioctl[SIOCSIWMODE]: Operation not supported
Could not configure driver to use managed mode
ioctl[SIOCGIWRANGE]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODE]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODE]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODE]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODE]: Operation not supported
There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.eth0.pid with pid 134519072
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.6
Copyright 2004-2007 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

Listening on LPF/eth0/00:1d:09:b2:5c:ea
Sending on LPF/eth0/00:1d:09:b2:5c:ea
Sending on Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 6
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 12
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 13
No DHCPOFFERS received.
No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
[ OK ]
maramot@ubuntu:~$


So we can write that off. I'll try this wicd network manager but I don't hope for much. The problem is between hardy and the AirPort express router. I am able to connect to a wireless network in the neighbourhood without the slightest effort, so I don't think changing the network manager will improve things with the router I have at home. Let's try anyway and we'll see.

maramot
May 25th, 2008, 03:30 PM
As I thouhgt -- the damn router won't give me IP address!! I connect perfectly to the other network. If I manually enter an IP, DNS and mask I get this message at the wicd status bar: "Connected to None at 56 (IP: 10.0.1.3)"

wicd is a nice manager by the way. Do you think anything could improve if I open the preferences and experiment with a different WPA supplicant driver (there's a drop box with drivers). I have hostap, hermes, madwifi, atmel, wext (the currently selected), ndiswrapper, broadcom, ipw, ralink legacy.