PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wireless Internet Connection problem

Chacon-66
May 13th, 2008, 01:36 AM
Let me state this early I am very new to Linux, first installed it 3 days ago.

I have been busting my brains for a total of 24 hours not including sleep nonstop trying to find a solution to my PCI Adapter problem. I have looked through google intensively and tried all how-to's that I could find and I cannot find a solution.

I have installed Ubuntu 8.04 on my old Gateway desktop which is pentium 3 and has 512mb of Ram. It does not have a Ethernet Adapter so a while back my dad bought a Linksys Wireless - G PCI Adapter with Speedbooster and it worked fine on Windows ME. So right now the computer running Ubuntu has no internet connectivity at all, not even dial up. Once I installed Ubuntu there was no going back to Windows ME because I cannot find the OS CD.

I am looking for a how-to that does not include any connectivity with the internet. I can download stuff on this PC(windows XP) and do have a USB to transfer files to my other computer running ubuntu.

When I type in lspci in the terminal this shows up =
"Broadcom corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller" so I guess it does know it is there. Also if any use to know I am using a WRT54GS Wireless-G Broadband Router.

superprash2003
May 13th, 2008, 02:21 AM
could you go to the terminal and type iwconfig and post output here

Chacon-66
May 13th, 2008, 02:39 AM
Yes the output of iwconfig are =

lo no wireless extensions.

wmaster0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel:0 Access Point: Not-Associated
Tx-Power=0 dBm
Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr=2346 B
Link Quality:0 Signal Level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

(Sorry if something is misspelled, I cannot Copy/Paste)

Chacon-66
May 13th, 2008, 04:01 AM
Need help please

Ayuthia