PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Vostro 1310 Ubuntu 8.04. Webcam, Google Earth,...

keryonic
May 10th, 2008, 10:51 PM
Hi,

I didn't want Vista so I installed Ubuntu Hardy Heron. It works but I have spent hours troubleshooting each time I install something new.

Two main problems remains:

1. The webcam was working at the begining without any change to the configuration. Then I tried to install a DVB TV USB stick without any success, I also load the nvidia driver but now the webcam doesn't work. I spent hours looking for a solution but nothing (I am a total noob).

2. Google Earth works just after a fresh install but if I close it and reopen it, the globe has disapeared. I guess it is a problem with nvidia.

I have moved /home to a new partition and, if I don't find solution for 1, I would like to reinstall Ubuntu but I don't know how it behaves (I know Windows not Linux). Will I mess Grub? Will I have to reinstall all the programs? Is it easy?

I would appreciate any help. Tx

keryonic
May 11th, 2008, 12:17 PM
I found the solution with Google Earth installing it directly from the Medibuntu repository. Medibuntu helped me also with codecs needed for DVD reading.

The webcam:
Ubuntu 8.04 can be booted with 2.6.24-12 generic or 2.6.24-16 generic kernel. I am a total noob and I don't understand what is the difference but I noticed that if I boot with the 2.6.24-12-generic kernel, the webcam works perfectly!!

What should I do to make it work also with 2.6.24.-16?

aikiwolfie
May 11th, 2008, 12:36 PM
The new version of GoogleEarth didn't work for me eithers. I just reinstalled the old version. I'm not sure what's going on with your web cam. But try installing cheese. That's the Gnome web cam application. It works great for me.

keryonic
May 12th, 2008, 06:47 PM
I have also installed the old Google Earth version.