View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cannot boot Hardy Live CD

Mike Brennan
May 10th, 2008, 05:50 AM
I think I've decided not to try to upgrade to Hardy. Some of the problems I see others posting about -- and my own problems -- have me worried. I can't afford to have downtime with my computer, right now, and I don't have any spare computers I can work with.

Nonetheless, I wanted to post about a problem I've experienced. I downloaded the Hardy Heron ISO file because I thought it may be safer to test drive it and then install from the live CD rather than try the update manager. I'm new to Ubuntu; I just bought a Dell with 7.10 pre-installed on it a couple of months ago.

Anyway, the download of the ISO (ubuntu-8.04-desktop-i386.iso) went fine. I used md5sum to check the MD5 hash and it checked fine. I burned it to a CD using Brasero, which went fine. When I try to boot from it, though, it starts to boot OK, I even get a screen with the Ubuntu logo and it shows a progress meter with an orange bar moving back and forth. Then it drops into the "ash" shell. After a few moments, all sorts of errors start appearing. I thought it may be the CD (even though the MD5 hashes check fine), so I burned a 2nd CD, making sure to select the slowest speed. This one produced the same results. I burned a 3rd CD -- this time, not with Brasero but by right-clicking the ISO file in Nautilus and selecting "Write to CD" -- and making sure to select the slowest write speed. Same results.

I wanted to isolate the problem, so I've tried two other experiments:

I have an official Ubuntu 7.10 distribution CD that came packaged with my Dell. I tried booting from it and it did boot, and I got the desktop. However, the panels with the menus on it were not visible, so I could not access any menus. How do I deal with a situation like that? I pressed Ctrl-Alt-F1 to get a terminal window to reboot.