PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ATI Radeon 9250 driver problem

srcw0rm
May 8th, 2008, 03:28 AM
I have a ati radeon 9250 installed on my computer and i cant seem to find the right drivers for it. especially ubuntu 8.04, how do i install them?and where are the drivers?because i tried most of them.please and thanks

jamesjohnson
June 4th, 2008, 01:08 PM
Yeah i have been having the same problem. I am new to Ubuntu and i tried just about everything, i heard that the ati 9250 wont work with Ubuntu. I got as far as putting the catalyst control center on there but of coarse its not working. So if anyone can figure this problem out let us know!

silvestros
June 4th, 2008, 04:01 PM
You can try with Envy (if you haven't tried it). It's an application that automates the installation of ATI (and Nvidia) driver. It's very easy to use it. The link is:

http://www.albertomilone.com/nvidia_scripts1.html

Good luck!

jamesjohnson
June 4th, 2008, 05:36 PM
Yes i tried Envy and it told me that its not supported. Which blows! I mean i hate Microsoft with a passion, but open source is such a pain in the *** because you cant just click and watch it work OH NO NO, YOU HAVE TOO GET A SCRIPT THAT LOOKS LIKE CHINEESE TO LOAD ANYTHING, AND THATS IF THE SON OF A BITCH WORKS RIGHT, AND IF YOU WANT TO EVER UNINSTALL IT, HOLY **** I STILL DON'T KNOW HOW TO DO THAT!

Paul S
June 4th, 2008, 08:18 PM
Yes i tried Envy and it told me that its not supported. Which blows! I mean i hate Microsoft with a passion, but open source is such a pain in the *** because you cant just click and watch it work OH NO NO, YOU HAVE TOO GET A SCRIPT THAT LOOKS LIKE CHINEESE TO LOAD ANYTHING, AND THATS IF THE SON OF A BITCH WORKS RIGHT, AND IF YOU WANT TO EVER UNINSTALL IT, HOLY **** I STILL DON'T KNOW HOW TO DO THAT!