PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ERROR 21 - new 8.04 install on xp pro system

onebyte
May 7th, 2008, 05:12 PM
I need some serious help. AMD64/ XP 32 Pro System will not boot. Error 21 message.

I suspect overwritten MBR in win xp 32 pro that I've been using for about two years on this athlon 64 computer. I was doing a lot of file shifting and moving to get a free disk to try ubuntu, and lost my acronis ti 11 backup somehow, so I can't use that option.

I think what I need most is instructions of how to use the xp 64 install disk to recreate the mbr. But I need to check to see what actually happened. I think I tried doing the install to the wrong disk. I was trying out a new WD MyBook usb disk, and had saved my backups to it, but I think I chose the wrong install locations (and maybe method too) and did my install to the
wd removable usb drive.

My rig is a lttle complex:

MSI Neo-Platinum SLI MB with AMD 64 Athlon 3200+ CPU, 2 GB 400 mhz memory
twin sata 80 gb hitachi deskstars using a sata raid 0 stripe from bios divided into 3 logical partitions. c,d,e with xp 32 pro on ntfs primary c, d extended, and e formatted for linux 3. (Using Acronis Disk Director 10)
hitachi 160 gb sata raid single stripe I was using for storage and backups, until yesterday when I decided to try putting the ubuntu thare (if I couldn't get it working on the linux partition on the raid 0 stripe.
dvd/cd drive
floppu 3.5
USB removable drive 400 gb
... with possibly corrupted iso image backups on it. (I think that's where my new ubuntu install went. I had great difficulty figuring out what drives ubintu wanter to use, and just went with the default. I don't think I should have done that! ;-))