PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Xorg.conf Purgatory



Aktrop
May 7th, 2008, 04:51 PM
Hi,

I'm going through xorg.conf hell. I recently did a fresh install of Hardy Heron on my Dell Inspiron 510s desktop. My ultimate aim: get Compiz Fusion working with Xinerama on both my external 19" FPDs. Where I am today: very far away.

Problem #1:

I can install the nvidia driver via EnvyNG and get Compiz to work - but not reliably. Here's the xorg.conf generated by nvidia-xorgconfig:



Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen "Default Screen" 0 0
InputDevice "Generic Keyboard" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
Driver "nvidia"

EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "Configured Video Device"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "NoLogo" "True"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "nvidia-auto-select"
EndSubSection
EndSection


When I booted this morning, after the Ubuntu booting up screen, it went blank. The xorg.conf that always works doesn't give me Compiz (for obvious reasons):



Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
Device "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen "Default Screen"
EndSection


The output of lspci is:



00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82G33/G31/P35/P31 Express DRAM Controller (rev 02)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82G33/G31/P35/P31 Express PCI Express Root Port (rev 02)
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82562V-2 10/100 Network Connection (rev 02)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 02)
00:1a.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6 (rev 02)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 92)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801IR (ICH9R) LPC Interface Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801IR/IO/IH (ICH9R/DO/DH) 4 port SATA IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.5 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) 2 port SATA IDE Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G71 [GeForce 7300 GS] (rev a1)



Ok, now my second problem...

Problem #2

I tried using nvidia-settings to get my Xinerama up and running on both screens but no love there. Both my screens are connected via a DSM-59 to DVI+DVI dongle; one screen is DVI and the other is VGA. The nvidia tool recognizes the DVI monitor and sees the other FPD as a CRT (since its VGA). The problem is that the non-DVI screen always goes to power saving mode, and even when I can see that the screen is extended - the mouse goes off the screen) I can't see anything on the second screen.

Any help would be GREAT!

kestrel1
May 7th, 2008, 05:05 PM
You probably need to configure your monitors via Screens & Graphics.
To do this:
Go to System > Preferences > Main Menu > Applications > Other and make sure the "Screens and Graphics" box is checked.
Go to Applications > Other > Screens and Graphics and select the option which best describes your display (LCD or CRT, etc.). Do *not* use the "detect" function. Also, do *not* choose "Plug 'n' play".
You may have already done this, but worth a try.

Aktrop
May 7th, 2008, 05:25 PM
Thanks Kestrel1!

I actually had NOT done that - though I had encountered that setup screen while fiddling around earlier. Anyway, sad to say, it didn't work.

Here's what I did: I selected the nvidia driver and set up both screens (I have two Lenovo screens and its really weird that Lenovo isn't one of the options!), but when I log in again, is says "Ubuntu running in low graphics mode" and presents me with the same dialog box - and no life from the second screen either.

I tried selecting the VESA driver, but same result.

Now I'm stuck with a very low resolution on one screen and no life from the other... back to the drawing board!

Any further suggestions?

kestrel1
May 7th, 2008, 05:35 PM
For the Lenovo Screens look under IBM, you may find them there. Lenovo is just the consumer part of IBM.

Aktrop
May 7th, 2008, 05:41 PM
Yeah, I checked, but no luck.

Thanks!

mapes12
May 7th, 2008, 05:55 PM
Your xorg.conf does not have any screen resolution settings. Mine looks like this:


# xorg.conf (xorg X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
# (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
# sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "CoreKeyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "gb"
Option "XkbOptions" "lv3:ralt_switch"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Driver "wacom"
Identifier "stylus"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
Option "Type" "stylus"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Driver "wacom"
Identifier "eraser"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
Option "Type" "eraser"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Driver "wacom"
Identifier "cursor"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
Option "Type" "cursor"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "nVidia Corporation NV5M64 [RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro]"
Driver "nv"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
Option "DPMS"
HorizSync 28-51
VertRefresh 43-60
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "nVidia Corporation NV5M64 [RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro]"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen "Default Screen"
InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
InputDevice "Configured Mouse"

# Uncomment if you have a wacom tablet
# InputDevice "stylus" "SendCoreEvents"
# InputDevice "cursor" "SendCoreEvents"
# InputDevice "eraser" "SendCoreEvents"
EndSection

Make a backup of your current xorg.conf file (just in case) and try editing your file to include screen modes in the section where mine has them.

BTW did your setup work with 7.10?

philinux
May 7th, 2008, 06:04 PM
On Hardy a normal xorg.conf looks like this. It's a stub file now. sys>Prefs>screen res is the default method to change res. It uses xrandr.



Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "gb"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "NoLogo" "True"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
Device "Configured Video Device"
Defaultdepth 24
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
screen "Default Screen"
EndSection
Section "Module"
Load "glx"
EndSection

jtclicker
May 7th, 2008, 06:15 PM
Your xorg.conf does not have any screen resolution settings. Mine looks like this:

[CODE]# xorg.conf (xorg X Window System server configuration file)
#
Section "Device"
Identifier "nVidia Corporation NV5M64 [RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro]"
Driver "nv"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
Option "DPMS"
HorizSync 28-51
VertRefresh 43-60
EndSection

Section "
Unless I'm way wrong 'nv' is the generic driver not the restricted one. I'm fighting these problems too

bodhi.zazen
May 7th, 2008, 06:59 PM
With the nvidia drivers (both nv and the proprietary nvidia driver) try :


gksu nvidia-settings

You may need to install it first
sudo apt-get install nvidia-settings

mapes12
May 7th, 2008, 07:41 PM
Philinux write


On Hardy a normal xorg.conf looks like this. It's a stub file now. sys>Prefs>screen res is the default method to change res. It uses xrandr.

How does the xorg.conf file in Hardy know what res settings to configure sys>prefs>screen res if they are not set as modes in the file?

And how does a stub file differ from the xorg.conf file generated under a 7.10 install please anyone? :confused:

philinux
May 7th, 2008, 07:51 PM
Cant find a definition for a stub file.

Anyway. Like I said the thing that sets screen res is xrandr which is system>prefs>screen resolution.

Aktrop
May 7th, 2008, 08:41 PM
Hi folks -

I ran sudo nvidia-settings again with both screens on, which yielded this xorg.conf file:



Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 1280 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" 0 0
InputDevice "Generic Keyboard" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Configured Mouse" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
Load "v4l"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"

# Removed Option "Xinerama" "true"
Option "Xinerama" "1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
VendorName "Generic LCD Display"
ModelName "LCD Panel 1280x1024"
HorizSync 31.5 - 64.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 65.0
Gamma 1
ModeLine "640x480@60" 25.2 640 656 752 800 480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync
ModeLine "800x600@56" 36.0 800 824 896 1024 600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "800x600@60" 40.0 800 840 968 1056 600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1024x768@60" 65.0 1024 1048 1184 1344 768 771 777 806 -hsync -vsync
ModeLine "1280x960@60" 102.1 1280 1360 1496 1712 960 961 964 994 -hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1280x1024@60" 108.0 1280 1328 1440 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

#
Identifier "monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "LEN L193pC"
HorizSync 30.0 - 81.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
Gamma 1
ModeLine "640x480@60" 25.2 640 656 752 800 480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync
ModeLine "800x600@56" 36.0 800 824 896 1024 600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "800x600@60" 40.0 800 840 968 1056 600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1024x768@60" 65.0 1024 1048 1184 1344 768 771 777 806 -hsync -vsync
ModeLine "1280x960@60" 102.1 1280 1360 1496 1712 960 961 964 994 -hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1280x1024@60" 108.0 1280 1328 1440 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "CRT-0"
HorizSync 31.5 - 64.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 65.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
Driver "nvidia"
BoardName "vesa"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"

#
Identifier "device1"
Driver "nvidia"
BoardName "vesa"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 7300 GS"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 7300 GS"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "Configured Video Device"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Virtual 1280 1024
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768@60" "800x600@56" "1280x960@60" "640x480@60" "1280x1024@60"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"

#
Identifier "screen1"
Device "Videocard1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "DFP: 1280x1024@60 +0+0; DFP: 1024x768@60 +0+0; DFP: 800x600@60 +0+0; DFP: 640x480@60 +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024@60 +0+0; CRT: 800x600@56 +0+0; CRT: 1280x960@60 +0+0; CRT: 640x480@60 +0+0"
EndSection



But, as I mentioned in my first post, this xorg still only gets the DVI FPD to work - the second screen is still blank.

I have tried using the native screen resolution tool, but it tells me that "X Server does not support XRandR extension".

I used to run twin screens on Feisty Fawn (Laptop + LCD) just fine (though it took a lot of doing). I though Hardy Heron would be different... sigh.

philinux
May 7th, 2008, 08:46 PM
There is one thing you could try , caveat emptor, whatever.

Go in the main menu> other and enable "screens and Graphics", it's disabled by default because failsafe x and xrandr are supposed to be the WAY.

Anyway screens and graphics may sort you out.

mapes12
May 7th, 2008, 08:55 PM
Go in the main menu> other and enable "screens and Graphics"

I found it in System>Administration>Screens and Graphics. I haven't got a second monitor hooked up but all appears to be present and correct to set up a second monitor.

Aktrop
May 7th, 2008, 08:59 PM
I tried that, but there's no difference. The second screen just refuses to light up.

One odd thing I've noticed is that while the second screen doesn't light up and is in sleep mode, it also refuses to be switched off. (I'm not sure that has any bearing on my problems, but I thought I would just throw that in). And yes, it does actually work.

I saw a youtube video of some guy running twin heads on Feisty with Compiz Fusion... lucky guy!!

Aktrop
May 8th, 2008, 12:44 AM
PROGRESS!!

I've got the second screen to show signs of life at last! However, it's not at the correct resolution i.e. 1280x1040 and what is very weird is that the second monitor (that's the non-DVI one) has a box floating about saying "Input Signal Out of Range". Xinerama works. The xorg file is:



Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 1280 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "CRT-0"
HorizSync 30.0 - 110.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 150.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "LEN L193pC"
HorizSync 30.0 - 81.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 7300 GS"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 7300 GS"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
EndSection


I guess the key change for the problem CRT is "nvdia-auto-select". But how do I force it to give me 1280x1040?

Aktrop
May 8th, 2008, 05:32 AM
More progress... but not yet home!

Ok, so in my last post, I meant 1280x1024. I have since fiddled with the Vertical and Horizontal refresh rates of my CRT - I tried out THIRTEEN variations - and managed to get rid of the funny box floating around the screen which said "Input Signal Out of Range". The second screen gives me 1024x768, which doesn't look nearly as nice as the 1280x1024 I want.

The xorg file:



Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 1280 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "1"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync source: xconfig, VertRefresh source: xconfig
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "LEN L191"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "LEN L193pC"
HorizSync 30.0 - 81.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 7300 GS"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 7300 GS"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "LEN L191"
Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection


How can I get it to the higher resolution? Am I REALLY stuck with fiddling with refresh rates, one Hz at a time till I find the optimal solution?

Help?

mapes12
May 8th, 2008, 07:33 AM
I read on another post that someone had success with configuring monitor res issues in 8.04 and where they had a nvidia based graphics card by installing the "nvidia settings" package via Synaptic Package Manager. Then going back into System>Administration>Screen and Graphics and resetting the res again with the new package installed.

Haven't got the issue myself but just passing on the info.

kylenix
May 8th, 2008, 07:58 AM
Yes, I heard of this sometime saying that xorg.conf is no longer used in Hardy. Is that true?
My xorg.conf contains this

Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
Device "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen "Default Screen"
EndSection

What happened?

Aktrop
May 8th, 2008, 03:40 PM
SUCCESS!!

The key change was as follows: instead of using nvidia-settings to set up the two screens as separate X sessions with Xinerama on, I tried just using TwinView. And presto - it works!! With Compiz too!!

Here's the xorg.file:



# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 1.0 (buildd@vernadsky) Tue Mar 4 20:24:34 UTC 2008

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync source: xconfig, VertRefresh source: xconfig
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "CRT-0"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 7300 GS"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "1"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-1"
Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024 +1280+0, DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection


Why the hell didn't I try this before?? Now now more excuses for putting of my dissertation!

kestrel1
May 8th, 2008, 03:54 PM
At least you got it sorted, but will you remember what you did if you need a clean install.:lolflag:

Aktrop
May 9th, 2008, 03:41 PM
I hope so!

So I'm pretty happy with where I am now, but my set up is a little buggy - when I boot the computer, the second screen is still dark, and it requires a couple of restarts of the X server for it to come to life (sometimes just once does it, sometimes it takes 2-3 times).

Why? And how can I get it to work the first time?