PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] network does not work even after several trials

karaju
May 7th, 2008, 10:10 AM
Hello,
I am relatively new to Ubuntu and recently upgraded to 8.04. I have working internet connection in XP provided by a local isp. I have been trying to configure the network ever since I first installed Ubuntu without success. I followed the following posts:

1. Ubuntu Networking for Basic and Advanced Users -- Debian Admin.htm
2. cant connect through VT6102 ethernet card - Ubuntu Forums.htm
3. Can Ping & Lookup but no DNS in FireFox both - Ubuntu Forums.htm
4. How do I connect to Internet (Dumb newbie question) - Ubuntu Forums.htm
5. How To Disable ipv6 on Ubuntu 7_10 “Gutsy Gibbon” Ubuntu Tutorials Dapper - Feisty - Gutsy - Hardy.htm
6. Ubuntu Wired Networking Woes Read This Closely ~ Linux Fanatics.htm
7. Ubuntu question #16753 “internet connection”.htm

After following so many threads, it must have a become a big muddle in Ubuntu system files. THE STRANGEST PART OF THE PROBLEM IS THAT PINGING IS SUCCESSFUL WITH 10.10.45.1 AND 10.10.45.116 (addresses provided by isp). BUT I AM UNABLE TO ACCESS ANY OTHER ADDRESS.

The following is the out put for lspci and ifconfig:

raju@raju-desktop:~$ ifconfig

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:14:85:93:0b:24

inet addr:10.10.45.116 Bcast:10.10.45.255 Mask:255.255.255.0

UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

RX packets:125 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0

TX packets:58 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0

collisions:2 txqueuelen:1000

RX bytes:24497 (23.9 KB) TX bytes:6957 (6.7 KB)

Interrupt:16

lo Link encap:Local Loopback

inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0

UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1

RX packets:166 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0

TX packets:166 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0

collisions:0 txqueuelen:0

RX bytes:12224 (11.9 KB) TX bytes:12224 (11.9 KB)

raju@raju-desktop:~$ lspci