PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Hardy using lots of system resources

Tagri
May 7th, 2008, 07:53 AM
Hi all,

I very recently installed Hardy Heron on my old laptop, as it's not exactly fit to run Vista, and I didn't want to go dig up my old XP key. I'm normally a Windows-man, and this is my first time using any sort of non-MS made OS, so please bear with me. I am, however, plenty experienced with computers in general, and absolutely love to learn stuff, so if you can explain why some things are, rather than just say "Go to terminal and type blah", it'd be appreciated.

After getting the system up and running, I quickly noticed that it was very sluggish. Watching videos (something I did all the time under XP) is virtually impossible, and even simple games like Solitaire and Tetris are extremely choppy. I google'd around a bit, and found that typing "top" into the terminal would launch a handy little system monitor. According to it, Xorg is continuously eating up around 50% of my CPU time. I should mention that this is a Pentium M 1.6GHz processor. Old, yes, but from my experience under Windows on this machine, I know it is quite a capable little chip.

Additionally, it reports that 87% of my (admittedly meager) 512 megs of RAM are in use. While this would certainly explain all the harddrive thrashing going on when I try to run any programs, I can't quite figure out where that space is all going. Adding up all my running processes falls quite a bit short of that figure.

So, to the point, does Ubuntu typically use up such a large amount of memory and CPU time? Are there simple ways of reducing the load on my poor old laptop? My needs for it are pretty simple -- the most demanding stuff I ask of it are chatting on VoIP and watching streamed videos. All the real heavy lifting, I do on my work-laptop or my desktop.