PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Partiton Restriction Access (plugdev?)

moshazat
May 7th, 2008, 04:46 AM
Hello,

My machine is dual boot of Wndows XP and ubuntu 7.10..
When im using ubuntu, on the desktop it will appear the other volume that have in the hd, and for my machine is partiton "Windows XP" which is located at hda1...

My question is ;
Can i restricted an access or permission to this other volume, so that when i use for example guest account in ubuntu it will restrict me from changing or create or copy any file from or to the windows xp volume? i dun want to unmount it, i just want to restrict on how certain account i created can do with this "Windows XP" volume..

hurm

subzero316
May 7th, 2008, 04:51 AM
Use the commands according to your preferneces

chmod
and
chown

you can configure that

moshazat
May 7th, 2008, 04:54 AM
i never heard of that, and sory im not mention that im new with ubuntu..
how to use that?

thanx for quick reply

subzero316
May 7th, 2008, 05:01 AM
chmod sets the permissions

400 read by owner
040 read by group
004 read by anybody (other)
200 write by owner
020 write by group
002 write by anybody
100 execute by owner
010 execute by group
001 execute by anybody

eg:

chmod 644 file.htm

This gives the file read/write by the owner and only read by everyone else (-rw-r--r--).

subzero316
May 7th, 2008, 05:02 AM
To know about the command see the Community docs or google it
or man <command>

eg:

man chmod

man chown

MaindotC
May 7th, 2008, 05:03 AM
Can you check out the manual page and tell us if you have any questions after that? You can view the manual page by typing in a command prompt:

man chmod

to change the read, write, and execution permissions or

man chown

to change who has ownership of the partition.

moshazat
May 7th, 2008, 05:06 AM
owh, i get the idea ;)