PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Sensible to fall back to Gutsy?

Nebelhom
May 6th, 2008, 10:54 PM
Hi all,

I recently installed hardy heron on my PC in a dual boot. I'm a complete and utter newbie and straight away ran into some issues with my graphics card drivers that up to now after one week of constant trying I haven't resolved. (I basically always had to start in vesa mode without drivers or failsafe mode with installed drivers)
(if interested see thread: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=4885303#post4885303 )

Although I got plenty of help and advice on the way, I am really stuck with it. I really like the idea of ubuntu, so I was wondering whether it is a good idea to fall back to gutsy which is a tested and tried OS and learn a bit more about ubuntu in general, rather than trying to learn the hard way in a newly released system that "may" still have bugs.

you guys reckon that's wise or will I most likely run into the same problems in gutsy as well?

Thanks for the feedback,

Nebelhom

c4v3m4n
May 6th, 2008, 10:57 PM
I don't think it's a bad idea at all. I haven't even upgraded from gutsy yet because there just seems to be too many problems with hardy still. Whatever works for you man.

Dougie187
May 6th, 2008, 10:57 PM
I think its totally fine. If you have to use gutsy its better than nothing. Though getting Hardy to work would probably be a better idea.

Oldsoldier2003
May 6th, 2008, 10:59 PM
Hi all,

I recently installed hardy heron on my PC in a dual boot. I'm a complete and utter newbie and straight away ran into some issues with my graphics card drivers that up to now after one week of constant trying I haven't resolved. (I basically always had to start in vesa mode without drivers or failsafe mode with installed drivers)
(if interested see thread: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=4885303#post4885303 )