PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation Disaster

Kellow
May 4th, 2008, 07:40 AM
I am an absolute novice. I have tried to install Ubuntu 8.04 onto an external hard drive - I cannot boot in Ubuntu, although I am given the option between it and Microsoft Windows - all I get when I choose to boot in Ubuntu is a DOS screen. Worse still, if I try, via Windows, to access the external hard drive onto which I 'installed' Ubuntu, it now gives me two drive letters, and if I try to expand either of those folder trees, I am told I have to format them - this of course I do not want to do. HELP!!!!

Thingymebob
May 4th, 2008, 08:12 AM
The external drive has 2 letters because it will be formatted as ext3 for the install and a swap partition (so you have 2 partitions) Windows can read neither of these file system which is why it is telling you they need formatting.

Where did you install Grub?

Kellow
May 4th, 2008, 08:25 AM
The external drive has 2 letters because it will be formatted as ext3 for the install and a swap partition (so you have 2 partitions) Windows can read neither of these file system which is why it is telling you they need formatting.

Where did you install Grub?

Wghat is GRUB?

seshomaru samma
May 4th, 2008, 09:33 AM
grub is the bootloader that gives you the option of booting into windows or linux,
the last stage of installation it asks you where you want to install it,
the default in the MBR (master boot record) , so if you don't remember you probably installed it there.
the reason you can't see Linux in Windows is because Windows is unable to see ext3 format, Windows can only see Fat32 or NTFS (as far as I know) , don't worry about it - it doesn't mean the disc is broken or something.

not a Grub expert myself , I cannot offer you a solution , hopefully someone smarter than me will be able to assist. In the meantime you can use the forums' search function to look for people who had a similar problem. try "grub external hard drive" or something similar