PDA

View Full Version : sqlite database always locked

Max Carey
May 4th, 2008, 01:51 AM
Hi, I'm trying to create and update a sqlite (v3.5.8) database in a c++ program. I open the database using

sqlite3 *db;

sqlite3_open("database.db", &db);

But any time I try to access the database after the call to open, sqlite returns SQLITE_BUSY (database is locked). Doesn't matter if I'm writing to or simply reading from the database. Any ideas?

Max Carey
May 4th, 2008, 06:05 AM
bump

Max Carey
May 4th, 2008, 08:15 PM
anybody?

mssever
May 5th, 2008, 06:37 AM
I'm no sqlite3 expert, but I do know that only one process can access the database at a time. Beyond that, I dunno.

j.daniel
October 22nd, 2008, 02:48 PM
I'm a newbie myself, but I got a "database locked" on a totally fresh (i.e. empty) database from the command line. I could not do anything, not even "create table t1 (c text);" After some googling I found a suggestion which helped me. My database-file was on a remote CFIS-mounted share, and when I did the same in my home directory (i.e. local file-system), everything worked like a charm.

Cheers!
/ Daniel

stevescripts
October 22nd, 2008, 02:56 PM
Do you get the same behavior when you try to open the database from the commandline?

Also, does the code on this page work for you?

http://www.sqlite.org/quickstart.html

Steve

davedavedave
February 11th, 2009, 01:29 AM
I had the same problem. Installed rails and sqlite3 on a fedora core 9 box where my home dir is NFS mounted. Any rails command that used the database cause 'database is locked' error. running sqlite3 first time (from command line, no parameters), .databases command caused 'database is locked' error. Then I tried in a directory on a local partition, no problem. Went back to the NFS partition, tried :

sqlite3 test.db
SQLite version 3.5.9
Enter ".help" for instructions
sqlite> .databases
Error: database is locked