PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Hardy Heron, Firefox 3b5, and Java plugin

marvinlee
May 4th, 2008, 01:42 AM
I've noticed tons of people reporting issues with HH 8.04, Firefox3, and the Java plugin(s). I'm a bit of a newb with Linux, but this is what worked for me. I use Logmein for my work and it's what I used to test the java plugin.
What happened previously with Logmein was, when I did a remote connection to a computer, I could see the desktop, but every click just refreshed the whole screen.
I currently have Java6, with the browser plug-in installed. I also had the gcjwebplugin. All I did was go into synaptic and uninstall the gcjwebplugin and logmein worked again. Also, the "dancing duke" plugin tester on the java website working correctly (showing correct info and recognized as installed), where before I could see the dancing dude but it said java wasn't installed. I've read a lot about the icedtea plugin, but I've never had that installed to my knowledge.
Like I said, I'm pretty new to this stuff, so I'll check this thread periodically to see if anyone has any questions about my setup that might be relevant but I don't know about.
Other than that, my upgrade from Gutsy was smooth as silk!

FrodeA
May 9th, 2008, 04:33 PM
Thanks a lot, that did the trick for me:)

It seems that the icedtea-plug in is the culprit. After upgrading to Hardy Heron, I was not able to load Java-aplets to my bank account, rather awkward in the long run... The same problem occured using 7.10 when I tried icedtea, had to uninstall to make my Java work correctly. Didn't realize it was installed until I read your reply.

cor2y
May 9th, 2008, 06:23 PM
The iced-tea plugin has improved esp with the update to OpenJDK (the opensource version of Java) so its no different from the closed source version/plugin, the only thing is visit the java site to check your version and the open source version is like .2 or .3 versions behind the closed source version.