PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help installing Timidity

monstercometh
May 3rd, 2008, 03:16 AM
Hello all,
Before I begin, I would just like to say I am a complete noob at ubuntu 8.04. My friend recommended it to me as something to fool around with on my old laptop that sits around collecting dust. So please don't take offense to anything ridiculous I might be saying :)

I wanted to get Guitar Pro 5 on my laptop as I am something of a part-time musician (I realize there are better linux alternatives like Tuxguitar, but I want to have the exact functionality as the rest of my bandmates to prevent compatibility issues in the future). So I did the whole jig with WINE and installing the setup.exe, which worked 100% except for the sound. Now, I knew this would be a problem because I had read about it before I started. People were recommending "Timidity" to get MIDI functionality, so I went to the website and downloaded the tar.gz, extracted to desktop. I had experience from installing flash player (heh), so I pretty much winged it and hoped for the best.

This is what happened:
1) Open terminal, "cd" to destination folder
2) Typed "./configure" because that seemed like the main file in the package
3) This shows up:
checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnulibc1
checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnulibc1
checking target system type... i686-pc-linux-gnulibc1
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking for gawk... no
checking for mawk... mawk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking whether to enable maintainer-specific portions of Makefiles... no
checking whether grep returns status... yes
checking if --enable-debug option specified... no
checking for emacs... no
checking for xemacs... no
checking for gcc... gcc
checking for C compiler default output file name... configure: error: C compiler cannot create executables
See `config.log' for more details.