PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Intel HD Audio codecs error



JKT7
May 2nd, 2008, 06:24 PM
I'm having trouble getting my sound card to work in Hardy. I had this problem in Gutsy as well and was hoping that upgrading to Hardy would fix the problem.

Alsa says that no sound cards are found:

$ aplay -l
aplay: device_list:205: no soundcards found...

But the card is being detected, with this entry in lspci:

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
Subsystem: Dell Unknown device 01db
Flags: fast devsel, IRQ 16
Memory at dffdc000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [60] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable-
Capabilities: [70] Express Unknown type IRQ 0

The module is loaded:

$ lsmod | grep -i snd
snd_hda_intel 344728 0
snd_pcm_oss 42144 0
snd_mixer_oss 17920 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm 78596 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss
snd_page_alloc 11400 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
snd_hwdep 10500 1 snd_hda_intel
snd_seq_dummy 4868 0
snd_seq_oss 35584 0
snd_seq_midi 9376 0
snd_rawmidi 25760 1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event 8320 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq 54224 6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_mid i_event
snd_timer 24836 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device 9612 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi ,snd_seq
snd 56996 11 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,sn d_hwdep,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_ seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
soundcore 8800 1 snd

After inspecting the system log, I found this error:

[73847.367178] ALSA /build/buildd/linux-ubuntu-modules-2.6.24-2.6.24/debian/build/build-generic/sound/alsa-driver/pci/hda/../../alsa-kernel/pci/hda/hda_intel.c:1113: hda-intel: no codecs initialized

Some more information:

$ uname -a
Linux torpedo 2.6.24-16-generic #1 SMP Thu Apr 10 13:23:42 UTC 2008 i686 GNU/Linux
$ cat /proc/asound/version
Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.16.
Compiled on Apr 21 2008 for kernel 2.6.24-16-generic (SMP).

Anyone have any idea what the "no codecs initialized" error means and how I can resolve it? I'm using the latest alsa, and I had tried compiling alsa manually in Gutsy with no luck.

JKT7
May 5th, 2008, 04:56 AM
Anyone have any idea? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

jocko
May 5th, 2008, 06:45 AM
This looks like a bug (https://bugs.edge.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux-ubuntu-modules-2.6.24/+bug/192382) I have problems with aswell.
Try one more thing.
What happens when you run alsamixer in a terminal?
If it does work, I can't help you, but if it fails with this error I might be able to help:

alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such file or directory

You could try to rebuild the alsa modules:

sudo apt-get install module-assistant
sudo module-assistant auto-install alsa
The second command will take a while (for me it takes 10-15 minutes).
Reboot when it's finished.

Until the developers fix this bug, this will have to be done after kernel updates and probably if alsa is updated as well. I'm not sure why they haven't fixed it yet, the developers don't seem to care about the bug report (https://bugs.edge.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux-ubuntu-modules-2.6.24/+bug/192382).

JKT7
May 5th, 2008, 03:55 PM
This looks like a bug (https://bugs.edge.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux-ubuntu-modules-2.6.24/+bug/192382) I have problems with aswell.
Try one more thing.
What happens when you run alsamixer in a terminal?
If it does work, I can't help you, but if it fails with this error I might be able to help:

alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such file or directory

I do get this error when I run alsamixer.



You could try to rebuild the alsa modules:

sudo apt-get install module-assistant
sudo module-assistant auto-install alsa
The second command will take a while (for me it takes 10-15 minutes).
Reboot when it's finished.

Until the developers fix this bug, this will have to be done after kernel updates and probably if alsa is updated as well. I'm not sure why they haven't fixed it yet, the developers don't seem to care about the bug report (https://bugs.edge.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux-ubuntu-modules-2.6.24/+bug/192382).

I ran this and rebooted, and I have no change.

JKT7
May 6th, 2008, 07:07 PM
Anyone else have any idea what I could try to get this working, or what's causing the "no codecs initialized" error?

JKT7
May 9th, 2008, 04:27 PM
No one? There must be some way to fix this?

JKT7
May 19th, 2008, 05:03 PM
bump
Any ideas?

Vraaq
May 21st, 2008, 09:36 PM
Hey, same problem here. Same card, same outcomes. I don't have the "no codecs initialized" error though. Not of much help I'm afraid, haven't found a solution yet.

Pulseaudio works fine though, zo if I realy want sound I can play it through my husbands computer :D

I assume your soundcard isn't listed in thesoundpreferences either?

JKT7
May 27th, 2008, 04:39 PM
I just updated to kernel 2.6.24-17 and everything is still the same.

Trollslayer
May 27th, 2008, 07:02 PM
What soundcard do you have? Yes, it sounds silly but there are some very new devices which take time to get drivers for.

JKT7
May 27th, 2008, 07:23 PM
Sorry, I thought that was clear from my lspci above:
Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller
is my sound card chipset.

It's an integrated, onboard, Intel ICH8 chipset in a Dell Dimension 9200.

JKT7
June 12th, 2008, 04:38 PM
Still the same behavior on 2.6.24-18.

zgornel
June 12th, 2008, 04:55 PM
I strongly recommend recompiling the kernel and double checking the options for the sound drivers in the kernel configuration menus. This is an excellent guide on how to do it: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Kernel/Compile . I strongly recommend disabling all the options/modules you do not need, the kernel will be smaller and it will take less time to compile. Try also re-configuring the package with
sudo dpkg-reconfigure alsa-base linux-sound-base. I have the same sound board (but rev. 03) and no probs ...