PDA

View Full Version : Setting up a simple mail server to test send_mail from django

WinterWeaver
May 1st, 2008, 08:36 PM
Can anyone recommend a simple mail server setup to test if my send_mail function in django (python) is working as it should?

I've tried to set up postfix, but I think my head is going to explode O.O

On a Live environment, someone else usually takes care of the mail servers for me, so I've never actually touched it (heck, I only started playing with Apache on Monday :P ). But I need to test if my code is working.

Much appreciated,

EDIT: I should prob also mention I'm trying to send the mail via my smtp.gmail.com

WW

WW
May 1st, 2008, 09:34 PM
This doesn't exactly answer your question, so you can file this post wherever you feel it is appropriate. :)

I use a server for a web page and for my subversion repositories. I have my subversion repository set up so emails are sent when a repository is checked in. Instead of setting up postfix or some other mail server, I use a program called svnmailer, and to actually take care of sending email, I use the Python program smtpclient_tls.py (http://twistedmatrix.com/projects/mail/documentation/examples/smtpclient_tls.py) that is provided as part of Twisted (http://twistedmatrix.com/trac/wiki/TwistedProject).

This following python script uses smtpclient_tls.py to act like the sendmail command, and uses smtp.gmail.com as the smtp host. I use this because svnmailer expects a command that behaves like the sendmail command; you won't necessarily need this.

my_sendmailer.py

#!/usr/bin/env python

import os
import sys

# Copy stdin to the file /tmp/svnmail
msg = sys.stdin.read()
msgfile = file("/tmp/svnmail","w")
msgfile.write(msg)
msgfile.close()

# Run smtpclient_tls.py to send the email to each recipient
from_address = sys.argv[2]
to_addresses = sys.argv[3:]