PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Ext Driver for Windows or NTFS driver for Ubuntu

JoyceBabu
May 1st, 2008, 06:53 PM
I recently installed Ubuntu 8.04 on my system after two days struggle. Ofcourse, the problem was not with Ubuntu or Windows, but with me :). Anyways, now that I have installed Ubuntu, I am full of doubts. Can someone plz clarify me on these?
My first doubt is about the drives shared by both Ubuntu and Windows. Can someone plz suggest me which of the following is best option?
* Format the drives as Ext3 and use Ext2ifs or Ext2fsd on windows
* Format as NTFS and use NTFS-3g on Ubuntu
* Format as Fat 32
Since I am new to the Linux Operating System, I won't be completely switching to Ubuntu suddenly.

My second question is about installing a development LAMP server on Ubuntu. Can someone plz tell me which all packages I should install. I am confused by all those packages having the term 'apache' in it :confused:.

Thanks in advance.

Paqman
May 1st, 2008, 06:58 PM
Hardy can read/write to NTFS, so that'd be the easiest option. The only downside is you'll get fragmentation, so it would pay to occasionally boot in Win and run a defrag.

There are ext3 tools for Windows like ext2ifs (http://www.fs-driver.org/), but i've not used them a great deal. They seem stable enough.

PeterJS
May 1st, 2008, 07:01 PM
I recently installed Ubuntu 8.04 on my system after two days struggle. Ofcourse, the problem was not with Ubuntu or Windows, but with me :). Anyways, now that I have installed Ubuntu, I am full of doubts. Can someone plz clarify me on these?
My first doubt is about the drives shared by both Ubuntu and Windows. Can someone plz suggest me which of the following is best option?
* Format as Fat 32
Since I am new to the Linux Operating System, I won't be completely switching to Ubuntu suddenly.