PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] how to fix bash shell in ubuntu

ash123
May 1st, 2008, 06:14 AM
Dear all,

I'm new to linux as well as to ubuntu and i have also installed kubuntu. I was trying to make an installation workable but somehow i just made the shell unaccessible.
When i open the kconsole its like that

bash: export: `/home/ash/omnetpp-3.3/lib': not a valid identifier
bash: lesspipe: No such file or directory
bash: dircolors: No such file or directory
bash: uname: No such file or directory
bash: uname: No such file or directory
bash: [: !=: unary operator expected
bash: [: too many arguments
bash: [: =: unary operator expected
bash: sed: No such file or directory
ash@ash-laptop:~$

I need help to fix this.

Thanks alot
ash

Monicker
May 1st, 2008, 06:18 AM
What did you do when you tried to make it "workable" ???

Did you modify the bash profile?

ash123
May 1st, 2008, 02:22 PM
i was trying to install a simulator and then i was setting the environment variable in the bash.bashrc file. But now i'm unable to use the sudo and therefore i can't change or modify it.
cheers

Monicker
May 1st, 2008, 02:36 PM
i was trying to install a simulator and then i was setting the environment variable in the bash.bashrc file. But now i'm unable to use the sudo and therefore i can't change or modify it.
cheers

You changed /etc/bash.bashrc or /home/username/.bashrc ? If you changed the latter you can copy /etc/skel/.bashrc to your local user account. I am not seeing anything else which looks like an exact copy of /etc/bash.bashrc when I hunt around on my system.

ash123
May 1st, 2008, 02:49 PM
Hi, i changed /etc/bash.bashrc.

I can't edit it anymore.
Is there any way i can change this now and remove the changes which i have done it.

cheers

Monicker
May 1st, 2008, 02:53 PM
Hi, i changed /etc/bash.bashrc.

I can't edit it anymore.
Is there any way i can change this now and remove the changes which i have done it.

cheers