PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Conky Problems



iSplicer
May 1st, 2008, 04:59 AM
Hey all

I installed conky through synaptic as usual, but on Hardy Heron, when I start conky from alt+f2, it shows up as a separate window, rather than on the desktop where it should be... Could someone please help me fix this? Here is a screenshot:

http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/8763/screenshot1sa9.png


Thanks in advance

Ek0nomik
May 1st, 2008, 05:30 AM
The only thing I can think of is your conkyrc file being screwed up.

Could you post it? (~/.conkyrc)

iSplicer
May 1st, 2008, 05:39 AM
I cannot find it, even when viewing hidden files and folders!

Ek0nomik
May 1st, 2008, 05:42 AM
I cannot find it, even when viewing hidden files and folders!

Try:


locate conky

If it doesn't find anything, try running this first, and then the above command:


updatedb

iSplicer
May 1st, 2008, 05:44 AM
Thanks for your reply but neither of those worked.. I tried the first one.. nothing.

The second one gives an error:

isplicer@isplicer-laptop:~$ updatedb
updatedb: can not open a temporary file for `/var/lib/mlocate/mlocate.db'

spiderbatdad
May 1st, 2008, 05:48 AM
sudo updatedb

Ek0nomik
May 1st, 2008, 05:48 AM
Thanks for your reply but neither of those worked.. I tried the first one.. nothing.

The second one gives an error:

Well this is odd. :)

I swear I'm not trying to be rude, seeing as how you have conky up and all, but make sure it's in:


sudo apt-get install conky

It says it's already installed right?

Ek0nomik
May 1st, 2008, 05:49 AM
sudo updatedb

I suppose that makes sense. :/

iSplicer
May 1st, 2008, 05:51 AM
Well this is odd. :)

I swear I'm not trying to be rude, seeing as how you have conky up and all, but make sure it's in:


sudo apt-get install conky

It says it's already installed right?

Thanks for the reply, but its already installed



isplicer@isplicer-laptop:~$ sudo apt-get install conky
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
conky is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
isplicer@isplicer-laptop:~$


Output of locate conky after sudo updatedb:


isplicer@isplicer-laptop:~$ locate conky
/etc/conky
/etc/conky/conky.conf
/usr/bin/conky
/usr/share/doc/conky
/usr/share/doc/conky/AUTHORS.gz
/usr/share/doc/conky/NEWS.Debian.gz
/usr/share/doc/conky/NEWS.gz
/usr/share/doc/conky/README.Debian
/usr/share/doc/conky/README.gz
/usr/share/doc/conky/TODO
/usr/share/doc/conky/changelog.Debian.gz
/usr/share/doc/conky/changelog.gz
/usr/share/doc/conky/config_settings.html
/usr/share/doc/conky/copyright
/usr/share/doc/conky/docs.html
/usr/share/doc/conky/examples
/usr/share/doc/conky/variables.html
/usr/share/doc/conky/examples/conky.conf.gz
/usr/share/man/man1/conky.1.gz
/usr/share/menu/conky
/var/cache/apt/archives/conky_1.5.1-1ubuntu1_i386.deb
/var/lib/dpkg/info/conky.conffiles
/var/lib/dpkg/info/conky.list
/var/lib/dpkg/info/conky.md5sums
/var/lib/dpkg/info/conky.postinst
/var/lib/dpkg/info/conky.postrm
isplicer@isplicer-laptop:~$





Thanks go to all that helped

Ek0nomik
May 1st, 2008, 05:51 AM
Try the following:


cp /etc/conky/conky.conf ~/.conkyrc

Open the file:


gedit ~/.conkyrc

Search for: "own_window"

Make sure it says "no".

iSplicer
May 1st, 2008, 05:58 AM
Try the following:


cp /etc/conky/conky.conf ~/.conkyrc

Open the file:


gedit ~/.conkyrc

Search for: "own_window"

Make sure it says "no".

That kinda fixed the problem (Thanks!) but theres a new one; the conky is really glitchy, everytime I drag my mouse over it it dissapears, it randomly flickers, etc

Ek0nomik
May 1st, 2008, 05:59 AM
I'm not 100% sure on this, but try removing this line in your conkyrc file:

own_window_type override

OR replace it with:

own_window_type desktop

(the desktop is the default value, so if you remove override, it will just default to desktop. produces the same effect)

spiderbatdad
May 1st, 2008, 06:02 AM
you should visit the .conkyrc thread to get some good ideas on .conkyrc files...you need think like "background yes" "double_buffer yes"...etc
Own_Window yes....and on and on...also visit conky website :P

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=281865&highlight=.conkyrc

iSplicer
May 1st, 2008, 06:08 AM
I'm not 100% sure on this, but try removing this line in your conkyrc file:

own_window_type override

OR replace it with:

own_window_type desktop

(the desktop is the default value, so if you remove override, it will just default to desktop. produces the same effect)

Replacing it with "desktop" doesnt help, its still really glitchy. Removing the line completely makes conky not appear at all..

Ek0nomik
May 1st, 2008, 06:10 AM
Replacing it with "desktop" doesnt help, its still really glitchy. Removing the line completely makes conky not appear at all..

Well, my next suggestion was going to be what spiderbatdad said. Check out some of the conkyrc files that people have posted and give them a whirl. Then modify them from there.

iSplicer
May 1st, 2008, 06:12 AM
Thanks guys, using one of the files there did the trick... seems that my config file was screwed over for some reason.

Thanks guys for helping me solve another problem.. This is why I love ubuntu, if I had a similar problem in windows, I would never solve it