PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Hardy Heron 64bit Java & Flash issues

trekguy
May 1st, 2008, 12:45 AM
This is my first try at a Linux OS. It is installed on a brand new AMD64 build. It came with Firefox 3B5.

Java___ At first, no Java at all. After doing some reading, I installed some icedtea things. Now, at a Java test page, I get animation, and it tells me that my version is old, and should be updated. It didn't look like they had anything for me at the Java site. And, should ALL software be installed from the repositories, and not directly?? Anyway, so it appears that I have some kind of Java working... but when I go to Yahoo/Geocities to work on a website that I've built... I can't get into Page Builder, as it says I don't have Java. ??????????

Flash___ Somehow I did get Flash working... but the animations do not start automatically. There is a gray box with a "play" arrow on it... when I click on it... it will go.

Random question #1: When I install something from Synaptic, will it automatically uninstall what it is replacing, or what it doesn't need anymore??? If it does not, is it important to manually uninstall before??

Random question #2: Seems as though the problems that I am having are due to the 64 bit thing. IF I were to install Firefox 2, would that solve my Java and Flash problems??? Will it automatically replace FF3B5? Will my bookmarks go away then? Will I have to redo the email again??

garyedwardjohnston
May 1st, 2008, 01:43 AM
This is my first try at a Linux OS. It is installed on a brand new AMD64 build. It came with Firefox 3B5.

WELCOME TO OUR WORLD!!!