PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problems with newly installed Linux



Castian
April 30th, 2008, 10:16 PM
I recently got rid of Windows and installed Linux (thank god). Anyway, I'm completely new to Linux, and I have no idea how to do pretty much anything. My problem right now is that whenever I encounter Flash files on the internet, I get this gigantic play button, and everything lags really bad. I don't know what's wrong, and I was hoping to get some help.

TheLions
April 30th, 2008, 10:23 PM
you probably don't have flash installed...

to install it open terminal(Programs-->tools-->Terminal)

and paste this (with CTRL+SHIFT+V)


sudo apt-get install flashplugin-nonfree

Castian
April 30th, 2008, 10:27 PM
I tried doing just what you said, and it said it installed flash. However, I still get the GIANT play button. :-(

TheLions
April 30th, 2008, 10:36 PM
can you put the screenshot??

also do you have x32 or x64 version of Ubuntu???

Castian
April 30th, 2008, 11:14 PM
I'm going to sound like a noob for this, but I don't know how to do/find out either of those things.

jorik42
April 30th, 2008, 11:43 PM
for a screenshot, hit the print screen button, located above the backspace button.

Castian
April 30th, 2008, 11:45 PM
Thanks a lot. Here's the screenshot.

iSplicer
April 30th, 2008, 11:51 PM
When you downloaded the .iso file to burn to disc, did it say amd64 anywhere?

Castian
April 30th, 2008, 11:52 PM
.iso file? I never downloaded an .iso file to my knowledge.

jken146
April 30th, 2008, 11:53 PM
scrub that. sorry.

Castian
April 30th, 2008, 11:55 PM
2.6.24-16-generic

Absorbed
May 1st, 2008, 12:19 AM
I don't suppose you installed gnash? I believe it's a open source version of flash. Perhaps that can be removed and then reinstall flashplugin-nonfree.

master5o1
May 1st, 2008, 12:25 AM
run `uname -a` in terminal and post out put... This will tell us: kernel version, cpu architecture.

If it has x86_64 on there then ...uh oh XD

randomnick
May 1st, 2008, 12:44 AM
Yep. Thats exactly what my flash looks like in Epiphany browser. You click the giant button, and even if the flash loads, it loads with no picture / no sound, etc. :(

Castian
May 1st, 2008, 01:16 AM
So, I put in the 'uname -a' code, and got this:
2.6.24-16-generic #1 SMP Thu Apr 10 13:23:42 UTC 2008 i686 GNU/Linux

jorik42
May 1st, 2008, 06:02 AM
thats pretty much the same as mine is; i think (though others may want to correct me) that thats an x86 system.

as for flash, download the plugin from the adobe site
http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash
thats worked for me on several different computers (though ive never had the exact problem that youre having, but its worth a shot).

Castian
May 1st, 2008, 02:04 PM
I've tried reinstalling flash multiple times now, and I still have the same giant play button problem.

seshomaru samma
May 1st, 2008, 03:03 PM
did you install Flash from the Adobe website?

Castian
May 1st, 2008, 03:06 PM
Yes, I did. Still doesn't work.

doorknob60
May 1st, 2008, 03:23 PM
try this:

sudo apt-get remove gnash && sudo apt-get autoremove

Castian
May 1st, 2008, 08:37 PM
This is what I got when I entered doorknob's code:

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Package gnash is not installed, so not removed
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.

Castian
May 2nd, 2008, 12:32 AM
Should I uninstall Hardy and then reinstall? If so, how do I do that?

jorik42
May 2nd, 2008, 05:17 AM
well if you wanted to do that, all youd have to do is put the cd back in the drive and re-install to the same partition that ubuntu is on now. i dont know if that would solve your problem or not, however.