PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Audio pc

ZootHornRollo
April 30th, 2008, 08:37 PM
Hi,

I am trying to resurect an old pc to use as a music library for my hifi.

I have a dell GX520 MT which is currently missing the CPU, DVDRom and HD. I plan to source the CPU and DVDRom from freecycle or ebay and buy a new 500GB HD.

Are there any issues with running ubunto linux on an Optiplex GX520, i have seen issues regarding the onboard intel graphics chip, anyone know if this has been resolved?

I will also need a soundcard to provide connectivity to the hifi amp and to improve sound processing. I was intending to get a soundblaster x/fi card but have since heard that drivers are as yet unavailable. Any known problems with Audigy SE cards?

I will also need CD ripping software (FLAC format preffered) and a suitable player. I have been told EAC is the best ripper but its not available for linux but will run using a windows emulator, as a complete novice linux user, how easy is that to do? any suggestions for a good quality CD ripper that is compatable with linux?

have i missed anything? i simply need it to rip and store music and play music to a good standard. nothing else.

ZootHornRollo
May 3rd, 2008, 02:43 PM
bump

billgoldberg
May 3rd, 2008, 02:49 PM
I don't know about the hardware compatablitly, but ubuntu has lots of audio rippers that are easy to use.

There is even one installed by default.

The intel set should only have issues running compiz fusion, what you shouldn't be needing.

halitech
May 3rd, 2008, 02:56 PM
intel video cards are actually well supported in ubuntu so shouldn't be a problem there. far as the sound card, not sure as I'm just using cheap cards in my systems.

far as ripping audio, Sound juicer is installed by default and does a very nice job and realitivily quick at it. For playback, there are numerous players. If you like winamp, there is xmms which is very similiar, vlc, amarock, rythymbox and numerous others.