PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] N00buntu: A N00b with Questions

MonsoonRush
April 30th, 2008, 07:48 PM
Hi there,
I am an absolute beginner with no existing linux experience whatsoever. I have been looking at ubuntu for a while now with intrigue and curiosity. I have recently acquired on the cheap a Playstation 3 with 60GB hard drive, and am eager to tinker with that. I am currently debating the viability and usefullness of installing another operating system on in and have been thoroughly debating the usefullness of Yellow Dog (the officially supported distro) vs Ubuntu.

Completely separate from that, I have been looking to either dual-boot or tri-boot my year old Macbook Pro (4 gb Ram, 2.33 gHz processor). I am a noob to linux but an old hand at computers, windows and dos, so it's not as if the command line prompt scares me to type in, just that I would have no #@$@ing clue what to type in the form of syntax!

I am looking for several pieces of advise:

1.) What are the merits of installing Ubuntu over Yellowdog. It appears that Ubuntu is more regularly supported/updated, but that could just be my perception. Is there anyone that could give me a more objective viewpoint on this? Most forums I have been browsing either gush with fanboyism for one or the other with little to no informational substance and I dearly would like some informed perspective on the matter.

2.) What programs are available for Ubuntu that I could use? I am looking to not only duplicate but also expand my options, as I currently have a Macbook Pro with Parallels Virtual Desktop installed with Windows XP. I am looking for both a.) Programs that mirror my existing functionality and b.) Programs that are exclusive to Ubuntu/Linux that expand beyond my existing capabilities.

3.) Regarding different flavors/kernels of Ubuntu . . . what would be the best one to install on the PS3? Or perhaps my Macbook as a partition?