PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] hey all

wargodsown
April 30th, 2008, 05:57 PM
hey i'm kinda new with the linux stuff but i'm workin on it i'm running ubuntu hardy herion and for some reason my bit torrent(i.e the one that comes with hardy) transmission is'nt working it says it's getting no response from the other side and i can't for the life of me figure out how to fix it. i thank you guys in advance for any help u can throw my way

artir
April 30th, 2008, 06:06 PM
Open transmission and go to to preferences. You will find a textbox with the port in use. Wait a few secs and a "Port open" or "port closed" message will appear.
Post the resulting message.

artir
April 30th, 2008, 06:06 PM
Open transmission and go to to preferences. You will find a textbox with the port in use. Wait a few secs and a "Port open" or "port closed" message will appear.
Post the resulting message.

wargodsown
July 5th, 2008, 09:23 AM
hey it says that the port is closed and i have tried multiple port randomly selected and also i have gone and looked at the ports my router has open for that kinda thing and tried those ones and it still gives me the port closed message

whitethorn
July 5th, 2008, 09:45 AM
hey it says that the port is closed and i have tried multiple port randomly selected and also i have gone and looked at the ports my router has open for that kinda thing and tried those ones and it still gives me the port closed message

Have you installed a firewall or changed iptables? ie. Firestarter. If you have to also have to open a port in it.

hyper_ch
July 5th, 2008, 11:08 AM
it is adviced to use a descriptive topic title, that means a topic title that gives some clue about the content in the thread itself...

a generic topic title like "noob here" or "need help" does not help at all. As you may have notices, just about everyone posting in here has some kind of a problem or issue or question ;)

wargodsown
July 6th, 2008, 09:06 AM