PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Mouse and Apple remote not working after upgrade



Ilove2023
April 30th, 2008, 01:25 AM
Hello,


I just upgrade to Hardy and I'm facing some troubles... Without changing anything in my configuration after the upgrade, my external mouse has stopped working. Same with the apple remote...

This is the relevant section of my xorg.conf


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen "Default Screen"
InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
InputDevice "Synaptics Touchpad" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Configured Mouse" "AlwaysCore"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
# Option "CorePointer"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
EndSection

#TRACKPAD
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Synaptics Touchpad"
Driver "synaptics"
Option "CorePointer"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mouse1"
Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
[...options...]
Option "SHMConfig" "on"
EndSection


Note I get some output when I click the mouse on /dev/input/mouse1, but when I use it in the config file, it doesn't change anything.


Concerning the remote control not working, I just have no clue how to test it... It worked out of the box in Feisty already.. ?!

Does anyone know what change happended in this new version?

Thanks in advance!

cyberdork33
April 30th, 2008, 03:28 AM
Without changing anything in my configuration after the upgrade...
that may be your issue... Xorg has undergone many, many changes, and most of the config options are not even needed anymore.

Ilove2023
April 30th, 2008, 03:38 AM
Arf, should I do a dpkg-reconfigure of the xserver package then?

Any clue concerning the remote? If I'm not wrong this is not related with Xorg?!

cyberdork33
April 30th, 2008, 03:41 AM
Arf, should I do a dpkg-reconfigure of the xserver package then?

Any clue concerning the remote? If I'm not wrong this is not related with Xorg?!yea, backup your config (just in case theres something you still need) and do
sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

I don't know about the remote, I haven't even tried to use it in hardy yet.