PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Onboard Realtek 8139 NIC Trouble - with trouble shooting info



prophet665
April 29th, 2008, 01:00 AM
Hello everyone. I have an 6 year old computer with a Realtek 8139 onboard NIC. The system is dual booted between WinXP and Ubuntu 8.04 (beta 5? whatever the last beta was). The NIC works just fine under windows but totally fails under Ubuntu. After reading about 4 million posts I have done the following beginning trouble shooting.

deus@Ex-Machina:/etc/init.d$ sudo lshw -C network
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+
vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
physical id: c
bus info: pci@0000:00:0c.0
logical name: eth0
version: 10
serial: 00:60:67:75:9c:71
size: 100MB/s
capacity: 100MB/s
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=8139too driverversion=0.9.28 duplex=full latency=32 link=yes maxlatency=64 mingnt=32 module=8139too multicast=yes port=MII speed=100MB/s


root@Ex-Machina:/etc/init.d# ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:60:67:75:9c:71
inet6 addr: fe80::260:67ff:fe75:9c71/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xd400

eth0:avahi Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:60:67:75:9c:71
inet addr:169.254.7.51 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xd400

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:1247 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1247 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:63608 (62.1 KB) TX bytes:63608 (62.1 KB)


root@Ex-Machina:/etc/init.d# dhclient
There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.pid with pid 5663
killed old client process, removed PID file
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.6
Copyright 2004-2007 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

Listening on LPF/eth0/00:60:67:75:9c:71
Sending on LPF/eth0/00:60:67:75:9c:71
Sending on Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 20
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
No DHCPOFFERS received.
No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.


root@Ex-Machina:/etc/init.d# dhclient
There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.pid with pid 5663
killed old client process, removed PID file
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.6
Copyright 2004-2007 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

Listening on LPF/eth0/00:60:67:75:9c:71
Sending on LPF/eth0/00:60:67:75:9c:71
Sending on Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 20
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
No DHCPOFFERS received.
No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.


root@Ex-Machina:/etc/init.d# ls -l | grep net
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 1772 2007-12-03 14:50 networking

I used the chmod command to change the permissions on the networking file just to make sure that wasn't the problem.

root@Ex-Machina:/etc/init.d# networking stop
bash: networking: command not found


It almost seems to me that the NIC drivers aren't loading, but I don't know how to start them.

As a side question:
The USB ports are not working either and I wonder if the problems are related. Of course they are working under WinXP.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

prophet665
April 29th, 2008, 02:33 PM
Sorry about replying to my own post. It seems that the Realtek card, wireless or wired, seem to have a lot of problems.

If I am creating a new system build in the future, should I just look for motherboards that do not have Realtek chipsets in them?