PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dualhead problem with my LCD-tv (wrong resolution)



warelf
April 28th, 2008, 06:21 PM
Hey, been trying for days now to get my resolution right on my LCD-tv, but it stops at 1280x768 and not 1360x768 as it should! think i have written 200 versions of the xorg.conf without luck.

I'm posting my xorg.conf here, and hope someone can point me in the right direction :)

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" LeftOf "Screen1"
Screen 1 "Screen1" 0 0
Option "Clone" "On"
InputDevice "Synaptics Touchpad"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
# Option "Xinerama" "false"
# Option "Clone" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "LPL"
HorizSync 30.0 - 75.0
VertRefresh 60.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Generic LCD Display"
ModelName "LCD Panel 1366x768"
Option "IgnoreEDID"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT-0"
HorizSync 31.5 - 67.5
VertRefresh 56.0 - 65.0
Modeline "1366x768@54" 74.68 1360 1392 1672 1704 768 784 791 807
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 8600M GS"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection


Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 8600M GS"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT-0"
Option "NoLogo" "1"
# Option "Metamodes" "CRT-0: 1360x768"
# Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x800"
EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "720p" "1368x768" "1360x768" "1280x768"
EndSubsection
EndSection


Can anyone see why this is not working? In my xorg log it just says that it removes the modes 1368 and 1360 etz.

r76
May 18th, 2008, 04:04 PM
Just a thought until someone cleverer comes along as I don't know anything about xorg, but I see you have an nvidia card - have you tried the GUI package nvidia-settings from the repos? I always use that app to set up my TV-out.

warelf
May 18th, 2008, 08:49 PM
Yeah have tried using the nvidia-settings GUI, but that just finds my tv to be 640x480 or something :(

thorgal
May 18th, 2008, 09:12 PM
where did you get the LCD modeline from ?

if I run gtf, it gives me

Modeline "1368x768@54" 76.39 1368 1432 1576 1784 768 769 772 793 -HSync +Vsync